return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl


2 Comments

Red velvet + cookies = love

I wouldn’t ever describe myself as much of a cook.  I wouldn’t describe myself as a cook at all.  I’m more of an assembler.  Pasta and hummus?  Those are my specialties.  I do have a soft spot for a mean cookie recipe though, and I will give up my lazy cooking habits for cookies.  For instance, pumpkin chocolate chip cookies?  Yes please.  And before today, I probably would have said that pumpkin chocolate chip cookies were my favorite cookies.  Then I discovered something even better: red velvet chocolate chip cookies.  The combination of my favorite cake and favorite type of cookie almost seemed to good to be true.  I assure you though, it’s a real thing.

Actually I can’t take all the credit.  My friend Emily always sends me recipes, and this just happened to be one of the recipes she sent me because she knows I love red velvet cake.  We’re having a group dinner party for Valentine’s Day tonight, so I thought this would be a perfect time to try out the recipe.

The recipe was incredibly easy and actually involves using red velvet cake mix.  I know, so much for me abandoning my lazy cooking habits.  It was definitely one of the messiest cookie making experiences I have ever had, but the dough was such a fun, vibrant color!

For the second half of the batch, I got a little crazy and added some chopped walnuts and cinnamon.

The recipe I followed even suggested adding cream cheese frosting to the cookies.  I thought that would be a little too intense, although I might have to try that the next time I make these.  And how do they taste?  Amazing.  Quite possibly my new favorite cookie.  I was just going to sample half of a cookie, and I ended up eating a whole one because it was so bomb.

Anyway, happy Valentine’s Day to all!  I hope everyone’s day is filled with good friends and good food like mine promises to be – that’s what the holiday should be about after all, right?

Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 box Red Velvet cake mix

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/3 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350.

In an  bowl, combine cake mix, oil, eggs, and vanilla. Mix until a dough forms. Fold in chocolate chips. Roll into balls and bake at 350 for 8 minutes.

Makes about 24 cookies.

*Disclaimer: I actually cooked my cookies for about 15-20 minutes, but this may be due to altitude.  I also think they probably will turn out fluffier at lower altitudes.

Original recipe found here.