return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Blame it on the altitude

Leave a comment

The only thing better than living in Colorado would probably have to be when my non-Colorado friends come to visit me. It’s kind of my personal mission to make all of the people in my life love this state as much as I do. I mean how could you not?!

My latest victim was my high school friend Libby. It’s a touching story – we met working at Sonic when we were 16 years old. Despite now living in separate states, we’ve only become better friends over the years because those cherry limeaid bonds run deep. Anyway, Libby flew out this past weekend, and we fit a lot of Colorado in during her three day visit.

Quick trip down to Crested Butte?

Our adventure started with a quick little jaunt down to Crested Butte. We had no real agenda and planned to just wing it, which is the best way to travel in my opinion!

Road trip #2498698 with this one.

I’m pretty obsessed with sunsets in general so I suggested that we find a mountainous view in Crested Butte to watch the sky. I vaguely remembered where a trailhead that I snowshoed at previously was located, and we headed in that general direction. We ended up quite serendipitously at Paradise Divide to watch the sunset with this amazing 360 degree panorama. During the sunset, I went back to the car to grab my gloves when I noticed that the alpenglow to the east was almost more stunning than the view to the west. The pictures do not do it justice in the least. (Someone buy me a real camera for Christmas?)

After a truly epic sunset, we headed back into town to grab dinner and hit a few bars. We had a lot of fun playing Tech N9ne at one of the bars and teaching people how to do the dance to “Gangnam Style.” I also took a bike ride with a local and saw about three shooting stars within a five minute period. Needless to say it was a late night.

Colorado whiskey on the rocks. We are classy.

The next day we were feeling a little tired, so we again just winged it and found a pretty mountain stream by which we could take a nap. I always believe in being prepared, and I keep an air mattress and chair in my car at all times. You never know!

Just hanging out.

We then answered the age old question, “Can you take a jumping photo with an iPhone?” Yes. Yes, you can. I’ll let you guess which one of us was a cheerleader.

We debated staying in Crested Butte for another night but ultimately decided it was time to go back to the big city, mostly because we just wanted to go to bed early and take a shower. The universe decided that we made the right choice and rewarded us with the most insane sunset at Washington Park right when we got back to town. Positive life decisions.

Sometimes real life is just prettier than anything I could ever imagine.

Our night got even more ridiculous when Hocus Pocus, probably one of the greatest Halloween movies ever, was playing on ABC Family. (Would it just be too much if I mentioned I was eating spicy pumpkin soup while watching the movie?) After an early bedtime, we woke up the next day and headed to Boulder to continue our Tour de Colorado. We went for a pretty hike at Chautauqua Park and then ate a brunch at Leaf Cafe. We had the nicest waitress ever, and she gave us complementary cocktails. The only thing that tastes better than a cucumber mojito? A free cucumber mojito.

Fall in the Flatirons.

Most of the time I think my blog makes my life look way cooler than it really is. I have a 9-5 desk job. I spend time doing normal boring things like everyone else. But I have to admit that this entry barely makes my weekend with Libby seem as awesome as it really was. I had such a blast showing one of my oldest friends around beautiful Colorado.

Really I think there’s a very big lesson to be learned here: come visit me and the universe will reward us with awesome things!

Come visit me! I will feed you a steady diet of whiskey and sunsets.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

