return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

The two week rule

1 Comment

My friend Emily posted this quote on Instagram today:

I found this quote to ring very true – often the hardest things in life are what turn us into stronger people. And I think this quote can also apply to the pursuit of fun. The activities that are the most rewarding are usually the hardest. For example, skiing has an extremely high learning curve. But once you can fly down the mountain it’s amazing and totally worth the effort it took to learn. I have a personal theory that things suck for about two weeks before they become awesome. It’s the two week rule.

Sometimes it’s easy to forget the two week rule when you’re trying a new activity. I recently started rock climbing on a pretty regular basis and I was definitely reminded of the rule when my arms barely had the endurance to make it up one route. About a month later, I am happy to report that I have definitely improved.

I’m not scampering up 5.10s by any means, but my endurance and movements are getting better. It’s becoming really fun. I’m hooked and so glad I stuck with it during the initial two week period of suckiness. I think it’s always tempting to quit when things are hard. I mean heck I could have been running successfully instead of looking like a chump up some of those climbing routes in the beginning. But if I had quit then I would have never felt the excitement of finally making it to the top of that 5.9 I had been working on for weeks. I would have never known what I was missing out on.

This is why I love outdoor activities. They teach you really good life lessons, like not giving up when it’s hard. Don’t take the easy way out. Things are usually hard before they’re awesome. But the good news is it only sucks for two weeks and then you will fly!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “The two week rule

  1. Yep, i’m pretty sure were the same person. Are you an aries??

Leave a Reply

