return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Opposite day

1 Comment

This isn’t going to be an entry about how I spent Labor Day trying stand-up paddling, rock climbing, going on an intense hike or kayaking. Although I so would do all of the above. No, this is an entry about how I spent my Labor Day doing absolutely nothing and it was exactly what I needed.

My Labor Day agenda of absolutely nothing started in the afternoon when I met my friend Britt to read Anna Karenina and have a picnic. I’m pretty terrible at relaxing or doing leisurely activities in general, and Britt has been there to witness most of this. For example, Britt’s apartment has a pool, and it usually works best for us when I meet Britt at the pool after she’s already been there for an hour and a half. I can’t last longer than an hour and a half sitting by a pool. Anyway, an entire afternoon of sitting and reading was going to be a lot for me, so I’m glad Britt was there for moral support.

Picnic spread: sushi, goat cheese, crackers, fruit and Perrier.

Proof. I sat still for three hours.

Looking up at the trees.

I have to admit, I loved sitting under a tree and relaxing with a book. It’s definitely something I should do more often. After a couple hours, Britt and I decided it was time to pack up shop and head down to Colorado Springs for dinner at our friend Molly’s. Molly is one of my awesome adventure buddies that, along with Britt, I spent the summer running and hiking 14ers with and she’s also a great cook. I’m personally completely inept in the kitchen and you’ll find me cooking about as often as you’ll find me lounging by a pool for an entire day. Needless to say, I like to invite myself over to my friends’ houses for dinner as often as possible. It’s like I always say – it takes a village to feed a Paula!

Veggies on the grill.

It wouldn’t be a Labor Day without a grill so we (okay fine Molly) decided to make basil pesto and veggie pizzas on the grill. Everything was homemade or grown in Molly’s garden.

Proof that I actually know how to use a knife.

Ready for construction.

Final results.

How were our pizzas with grilled red peppers and shiitake mushrooms, basil and walnut pesto, tomatoes and parmesan cheese? Incredible.

 Dinner is served.

So as it turns out I am capable of relaxing. And chopping grilled vegetables. Who would have thought?!

Labor Day – it’s not a bad holiday!

etables. Who would have thought?!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Opposite day

Leave a Reply

