return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Benched

Leave a comment

Sometimes my life seems kind of intense. Like when I did three 14ers last weekend. And it’s always fun but I swear I am still human and I need down time too! So after last weekend’s extravaganza, I had already been planning on taking this weekend off from playing in the mountains. However the universe had WAY different plans for me (nice try Paula!) and I have ended up being benched for the entire week. Why you might ask? Oh just a lovely little thing I like to call Streptococcus bacteria – strep throat!

After such a big weekend, I figured it was normal that I was feeling a little worn down. I went to bed early on Monday and then woke up feeling seemingly normal on Tuesday. I was a little tired Tuesday afternoon, but I just thought that was due to still being behind on sleep. I forced myself to go to CrossFit after work, thinking it would wake me up. Big mistake. I got through the workout, but I definitely struggled. The workout was push jerks, box jumps and running; box jumps and running are my two best movements so I should not have been hurting quite as badly as I was.  I finished the workout but basically felt like I had run a marathon. Then I went home, laid on the couch, and did not move the rest of the evening.

CrossFit results from Tuesday. Maybe not a good idea when you’re unknowingly coming down with strep! Also I totally did NOT push jerk 115 pounds but we can pretend that I did. That’s cool.

The next day I woke up feeling mediocre and hoping that coffee would wake me up. I ended up having to leave work early and spent another night going to bed early. Meanwhile, my throat was starting to hurt. It hurt to eat and talking was becoming challenging. I sounded a bit like Kermit the Frog. Finally, on Thursday morning, I decided that this was getting a little ridiculous. I made a doctor’s appointment and two hours later I was back at home with a strep throat diagnosis and antibiotics.

I spent most of the afternoon debating which was worse: being hungry or how much it hurt to eat. I eventually decided I could handle some mashed potatoes, so I made a brief public appearance at Whole Foods. I picked up three servings of mashed potatoes, you know, to tide me over.

Future reference, delicious mashed potatoes.

The mashed potato outing was pretty big, so I took a nap for a little bit. I then decided to make productive use of my time and start watching Mad Men, a show I’ve always wanted to watch but never had time to begin.

So good.

Even as much as I am liking Mad Men, this whole “sick” thing has been challenging for me. I don’t think I have ever spent this much time at home during one week. Ever. Having strep throat is pretty much the polar opposite of my usual life, and I have been going a little crazy.

The answer was no. Sad day.

I have to admit that I probably had this coming. It’s been a full summer and I could have definitely used a few days of downtime. An entire week of being exhausted and achey? Meh I could have done without. But it is what it is, and I’m just now halfway through season one of Mad Men so I guess I better get cracking!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

