return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Frisbee nation

Leave a comment

When I tell people that I play ultimate frisbee, I really have no idea what they picture. I sometimes feel a little ridiculous when I have to say no to activities or leave early from places because of frisbee. I am fairly sure people think I blow them off to go lope around Wash Park and toss a disc. In reality though, I own cleats and I play in a league that includes jerseys. Ultimate frisbee is a thing! This past weekend confirmed that not only am I not crazy for liking frisbee but that there are tons of other people that share my growing love of the disc.

This is about right.

Ultimate frisbee at its best.

How did I spend my weekend you ask? Oh not only do I play ultimate frisbee in organized leagues with jerseys, I now also play in weekend tournaments. This weekend’s tournament was Lungbusters in Breckenridge. Does life get better than ultimate frisbee with a mountain view? I don’t know if I want to find out.

I don’t know if this is accurate but we’ll go with it.

Now that I have made myself seem all legitimate I’ll go ahead and crush your image of me scoring ten points per game. Not quite. I can run around the field all day (thanks long distance running!) and I can even catch and throw when I manage to get open but I still have a long, long way to go in my ultimate career. Nevertheless I’m having a blast learning the game.

Anyway, at Lungbusters I played on the Crested Butte Lawn Gnomes with my friend Ari. Ari and I basically spent the whole tournament calling each other “Broski!” and shouting “YOLO” at any time possible, so naturally we had a great time.

Rolling with my gnomie.

On the first day of the tournament there were five rounds. Each team played four games and had one bye, and so of course I was on a team with four games in a row and a bye the last round. We went 2-2 for the day, which was pretty solid considering that a lot of our team was pick-ups (myself included). There is just such a huge difference between playing with a pick-up team and playing with a team that you know well. We were also a small team, which was significant because it meant we had a lot less subs! Games were played until one team scored 13 or until the clock reached 95 minutes. I was exhausted by the end of the day without a doubt.

We were losing by a lot to one team. So we decided a shot of peppermint Schnapps and chocolate syrup (“Dirty Girl Scout”) would do the trick. 

Nap on the field after game 4.

After some serious power naps on Saturday night, we all rallied and went out in Breck to hang out with frisbee people. Ultimate frisbee is all about working hard and playing hard! It was a late night, but we still managed to wake up and be ready for a second day of frisbee.

Waking up in Breck.

Sunday was the playoffs of the tourney, and we lost our first game. We only lost by three points, and we ended up really rallying and putting up a good fight, so none of us were upset. Also we would have gotten slaughtered in the second game, so we were almost happy to have lost. Our team then headed over to the losers’ bracket for one more game with other teams that were also out of the playoffs. We lost by one point to the team we played, but it again it was a really fun game. I was pretty ready to head home after that, so we packed up and started heading back to Denver.

Driving through mountains, never gets old.

All in all it was a super fun weekend. I definitely grew a lot as a frisbee player (six games in two days, no big deal), and I can’t wait for future tournaments. Luckily I don’t have to wait long – there is a hat tournament in Denver this Saturday. It’s the summer of ultimate!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

