return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Way down South

4 Comments

Apparently I now spend all my free time in Colorado Springs. Okay, I’m being a little dramatic, but I stayed in Colorado Springs last weekend for the Garden of the Gods 10 Miler and I was in Colorado Springs again this past Friday. The scary thing is that I don’t hate Colorado Springs at all. In fact, I kind of like it. Weird, right? I think us Denver kids are sometimes wired to think that anything that isn’t Denver is wrong. But really once you get past the Focus on the Family National Headquarters being located in Colorado Springs, it’s kind of a lovely place. Because it’s closer to the mountains than Denver, Colorado Springs just has a completely different vibe – in a good way.

So what was I doing in the Springs this past Friday? Blame Groupon. You see, Groupon thinks I live in Colorado Springs and sends me the Daily Colorado Springs Deal. To be fair, I do buy more Groupons for Colorado Springs than anywhere else. For example, last year I did a Groupon with three of my friends for rock climbing at the Garden of the Gods. Anyway, when a rock climbing Groupon popped up on the Daily Colorado Springs Deal, I immediately jumped at the opportunity.

I’ve really gotten into climbing lately, and so my intent was to hopefully learn how to belay and tie knots. The Groupon was for a guided climbing trip outside of Canon City, which is just southwest of Colorado Springs. I happened to have Friday off of work, so I decided to just combine my morning climbing trip with an afternoon trail run in the Springs with my friend Molly.

My day began bright and early at 5:00 a.m. Yes, I wake up earlier on my days off than on days that I work.  I was on the road by 5:45 a.m. because I wanted to miss rush hour in both Denver and Colorado Springs. Priorities.

On the road.

The best part of my drive started when I began heading towards Canon City from Colorado Springs. I was actually headed past Canon City to a little town called Cotopaxi (population 47). The highway was along the Arkansas River and it was just beautiful.

Good morning beautiful!

 

How was the climbing? Great! I purposefully wanted to learn how to belay outside, not just at the 30 foot wall at my climbing gym. I got exactly what I wanted out of the trip, learning how to set-up a climb, belay and tie figure 8 knots. I still have a long ways to go but a girl has got to start somewhere. I could at least be a semi-contributing climbing partner now.

Nothing like climbing outside.

All the essentials.

 After spending the morning climbing, I headed back up to the Springs. It was trail time. Molly recommended running at Palmer Park, which she assured me was some of the best trail running in the Springs. I was not disappointed.

Palmer Park.

It was a little cloudy when we started our run, but we weren’t convinced it was actually going to rain so we went ahead with our run anyway. The clouds ended up being a blessing in disguise, as it made our run much cooler. The trails were awesome and the views were even better! Trail running with views of Pikes Peak and Garden of the Gods? Yes please!

Not a bad view. At all.

Miss Molly and me at the overlook.

It was so fun to have a running buddy, and Molly and I ran at least 8 miles and probably 9. My rule for running is that you always, always get to round up, so we’re calling it 9.

As I drove back to Denver from the Springs on Friday night, I have to admit, a little part of me was sad to be leaving. And it wasn’t just because I was sad to be leaving 96.1 The Beat, Colorado Springs’ Party Station. I was sad to be leaving the Springs because you know I apparently like it now!

Thanks for the hospitality Colorado Springs. I’ll definitely be back.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

4 thoughts on “Way down South

  1. I think the problem with Colorado Springs is the traffic! But if you can get over that, there are some lovely things that the city has to offer! Glad you had a good time! 🙂

  2. aww i’m happy you had fun! funny story, when i was a little kid, and had never been to CO, i wanted to live in colorado springs because i thought it had such a pretty name. years later i found out about focus on the family and was discouraged. i guess i should give it another shot!

  3. Pingback: Mount Evans: An electrifying experience | return to the motherland

  4. you are a rock star. You are so quick and so ACTIVE. I love it!! Rub off on me please!

Leave a Reply

