return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Living the dream

5 Comments

Most of my blog entries have to do with my weekend adventures in the mountains.  This is great and all but that’s really only like 10% of my actual day to day life.  While it seems that I do nothing but frolic and play in mountains, I assure you that I have a normal job and I actually do live in Denver. Ever wondered what a typical Tuesday for me looks like?

Sometimes I don’t wear Chacos to work but only when I have a new skirt I’m dying to wear.

Homemade pop tart from Devil’s Food Bakery. #36 on Westword’s Top 100 Dishes in Denver. Breakfast of champions!

We got free posters in my office from the National Landmarks program. Coworkers and I got a little carried away with hanging the posters in our windowless hallway.

Magnet collection on my cabinet.

My copy of the Federal Acquisition Regulations, a.k.a. the “Contracting Bible.” 2000 pages of regulatory fun!

Mid-morning snack. Strawberry rhubarb is totally the best Noosa.

It was a Tuesday which means it was jam band Tuesday. What you don’t have live bluegrass tunes at your office?

Lunchtime steps. I’m like one of the Gossip Girls that eats yogurt on steps! Except not.

My coworker seriously gave me a First Aid Kit for my office. She was tired of all my injuries from trail running and skateboarding.

Commute home. Whassup.

Quick 20 minute run. My Kinvara 2s were once pretty.

On my way to a Tuesday night ESL tutoring session. You can take the Paula out of Latin America but you can’t take the Latin America out of Paula.

I’m convinced climbing gyms were invented for people with crazy schedules like me. 9:00 p.m. bouldering session? Sure!

I’m not climbing 5.11s (yet!) but I do love any hold that is a fun shape. My climbing gym also has a corn shaped hold.

Fellow climbers are rad.

Quitting time. Side note, seriously obsessed with this beer. Try it ASAP.

 See, I lead a completely normal life! Well okay somewhat normal. Next time maybe I’ll feature a Thursday, when I like to go to CrossFit immediately followed by an ultimate frisbee game with the Denver Summer Ultimate League.

Okay I give. I’m not normal – but I’m fun!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

5 thoughts on “Living the dream

  1. Love Devil’s Food! They make a great shrimp and grits if you are ever there for dinner.

    • Yum! I will definitely have to try that next time I am there. I am convinced Devil’s Food is one of the best brunch places in Denver. Who needs Snooze?!

  2. Love the blue skirt! Love your Tuesday.

  3. You dress so cute!!! Can we go shopping at Nordstrom Rack then eat icecream then giggle over Noosa?

  4. Cool. That pop tart does look pretty incredible. My office could REALLY use some bluegrass.

Leave a Reply

