return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

The best time of the year

Leave a comment

It’s that wonderful time of year again – the beginning of summer BBQ season!

I went for about six years between high school and college without living in an actual house. I ended that streak, thankfully, last November when I moved into a cute, little bungalow with my friend Gracie. Houses are awesome for many reasons but especially because having a washer and dryer is the best thing ever. Just say no to communal laundry rooms. Anyway, since we moved into our house at the beginning of winter, my roommate and I are just now experiencing the joys of having a yard during the summer. We don’t actually have grass, which is fine with me because I don’t want to spend time mowing a yard, but we do have some sweet Xeriscape-esque landscaping courtesy of our landlord.

Bouquets made from flowers in our yard!

While I’m not home often enough to have any major gardening responsibilities, my roommate has been busy in our yard planting vegetables, fruits and flowers. The other day I was assigned the task of harvesting our lettuce crop. I don’t know if you have ever tasted fresh arugula from the garden but it is delicious! We (okay fine, it’s all Gracie) are also growing cilantro, basil, chives, lavender, mint, tomatoes, strawberries and rhubarb. It should be a delicious summer.

Arugula and lettuce crop.


To celebrate our yard and Memorial Day, Gracie and I held a last minute BBQ at our house this past weekend. Gracie made caprese salad, BBQ ribs, sangria, cupcakes and fresh pesto. You might be asking yourself what does Paula bring to the roommate equation? Nothing culinary. But hey, I’ll empty the dishwasher and take out the trash no problem! I also buy baskets for storage in our house. It’s a big job. Besides, since I now know how awesome it is to have a yard, maybe I’ll be inspired to do some more yardwork in the future.

You know what else I contribute to the roommate equation? Entertainment.

It just wouldn’t be a Gracie/Paula BBQ if we didn’t take a skateboard break!

Having a yard and a house – it’s just as cool as you think it will be!  Happy BBQ season everyone.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

