return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Railroad revival

Leave a comment

I think it’s going to take me all summer to recover from May 2012. I’m currently on my third consecutive weekend of travel, and I’m not done yet. This post is currently coming to you from a train leaving Washington, DC heading towards Charlottesville, Virginia. Yes, the train has Wi-Fi, and it’s totally the greatest thing ever. I know that there are airplanes with Wi-Fi and all but this is way cooler because it’s completely free.

Hello from the train!

The current trip that I am on has been long-standing and is for a legitimate reason: I finally get to meet my niece Harper Lexington! Harper lives in Charlottesville, Virginia, and since many of my friends from graduate school live in Washington, DC, I decided to combine the trips.  I’m practically taking the whole week off of work, and it’s nice to have a break before we get into our busy season at my office with the end of the fiscal year in August.

Vacation time.

I got back from Missouri on Sunday night, worked on Monday, went to CrossFit and watched the Bachelorette premiere with my friend Amy that evening. Somewhere in there I unpacked, did a load of laundry and repacked. I’m not kidding when I say this is the most intense travel month of my life!

I had a 6:00 a.m. flight out of Denver connecting through Midway to Dulles. I decided to fly into Dulles instead of Charlottesville directly because I am ending my trip with my graduate school friends in DC for the weekend. Plus I have a Southwest credit card so I used a free flight for this trip, which saved me about $400.

Charlottesville is about three hours south of DC, so this trip was also a bit of an experiment to see just how much of a pain it is to get from DC to Charlottesville. As I mentioned previously my mom is moving to Virginia, so all my future holiday and family travels are pretty much going to involve flying from Denver out east.  Anyway, I booked tickets on Amtrak from DC to Charlottesville and decided I would just figure out how to get from the airport to the train station when I got to DC.

Charlottesville, VA – Birthplace of the Dave Matthews Band and my adorable niece.

Luckily, it was very easy to figure out, and I hopped on a bus to a metro station and took the subway in to the city center.  I had plenty of time when I got to the city center before I needed to get to the Amtrak station, and I decided to do a little sightseeing. I looked like a total tourist since I was lugging all my bags with me, but it was really fun to see some of the DC sights. Also I’m probably the only person that considers the Department of the Interior headquarters an essential sight in DC. I’m just a dedicated employee, even on vacation!

Hi Obamas!

It’s the MIB! No, not the Men In Black – the Main Interior Building.

Washington National Monument.

 I’ll be back in DC for the weekend to do some more sight seeing, but I had a fun couple of hours walking around.  It was a little muggy, and I don’t even want to imagine what DC is like in August. That’s something I have no need to experience ever.

Before I return to DC though, I am excited for the first leg of my trip in Charlottesville. In addition to hanging out with my niece, my brother and I are going rock climbing tomorrow. I also packed a frisbee, so you know that could get crazy.

I love any trip that involves me packing rock climbing shoes and a frisbee.

Getting to see family AND friends? Worth it. I don’t care how crazy my May schedule has become!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

