return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Closing time

2 Comments

Ski season, like all good things, comes to an end eventually.  And even though I haven’t gone skiing for six weeks, I felt the need to say a proper good-bye to this year’s season  Admittedly, the snow this year was abysmally bad; I still had a great season.  You can never be upset about any amount of time spent in the mountains.

I headed up to Vail late Saturday afternoon with my friend Alyssa.  Alyssa has some friends that live in Avon, and we all headed to the free JJ Grey and Mofro concert at Vail on Saturday night.  The next morning we woke up late and grabbed breakfast at a coffee shop in Avon.  We then prepared for the day, getting dressed in some stylish outerwear.  I personally wore my roommate’s metallic shiny leggings, fur vest, and lei.  I called it, “Zenon Girl of the Twenty First Century Attends an Alaskan Luau.”

Shades.

Ready for action.

After a totally dry March, there was actually snow on closing day.  Vail reported four inches, but I would say that at the top of the mountain there was at least six inches in some parts. Unfortunately, I am not normally a sunglasses kind of skier.  I love my ski goggles, and I learned why the hard way today.  In the morning it was still snowing, and I could barely see where I was going on the first run. I was skiing on nothing but faith.  Luckily, the sun finally managed to come out for part of the day.

Overall, I had a great time saying a final good-bye to the ski season.  On the final run all the way down the mountain, I wasn’t really skiing.  I was strategically trying to avoid patches of dirt.  Ski season is definitely over for the year.

Although the snow we got this year is incomparable to last year, it was nonetheless a fun year.  I can’t control the snowfall, as much as I would like to, and sometimes skiing is all about making the best of what you do have.  My mom always liked to tell me when I was growing up, “You just have to take what you have and do the best you can with it.”  I can’t be disappointed with the season this year because I know I did the best with what we had.  Besides, there’s always next year.  And there’s no such thing as two bad snow years in a row, right?

2011-2012 Final Stats

Days on the Mountain: 25

Mountains Skied: Keystone, Breckenridge, Arapahoe Basin, Vail, Snowmass, Eldora, Winter Park, Copper

 

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

2 thoughts on “Closing time

  1. That looks like so much fun … I love snow and it feels like a party. And that purple hair, deadly

  2. Great costume 🙂 I definitely want to go to closing day with you next year- that looks so fun!

Leave a Reply

