return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Summer plans: 14 14ers

7 Comments

How do I spend my lunch breaks? Planning the mountains that I want to climb this summer of course. 14ers are kind of a thing for us Colorado folk, and I even have a T-shirt that has a list of 14ers that can be checked off. There are approximately 54 (53 if you’re Wikipedia) 14ers in the state of Colorado, and one bucket list item for many Coloradans is to climb all of these peaks. In my own 14er career over the past two summers I have climbed eight.

Best shirt ever. Thanks SJJ!

This summer, I have ambitious plans to climb 14 14ers. I think it will be a good summer for 14ers, since because Colorado had no winter this year 14er season will start much earlier than usual.

Number one on the list and in my heart, Longs Peak is an absolute must for me this year. It is happening. I have also noted Handies Peak as a “Cousin 14er”. My awesome cousin Jen and I have some great Colorado traditions going, including annual cousin 14ers and cousin ski dates. Last year we did Castle Peak and Mt. Elbert, and the previous summer we hiked Mt. Harvard. This year we want to do a weekend in southwestern Colorado (because it is possibly the most gorgeous place on earth) in the Telluride/Ouray area, and so Handies Peak should be a perfect addition! Mt. Lincoln, Democrat and Cameron are an “easy” 14er trip in the front range that I just haven’t gotten around to doing yet. Pikes Peak is another must on my list. Who am I kidding, these are all musts!

Is it summer yet?

Mt. Sherman – my first 14er ever!

Cousin 14er – Mt. Harvard.

Mt. Elbert. Highest 14er in CO.

Descending Castle Peak.

Ladies on Quandary Peak summit.

Sunrise 14er. Coolest experience ever.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

7 thoughts on “Summer plans: 14 14ers

  1. i feel like a failure saying it, but i weirdly hate climbing mountains. i love hiking generally, but i feel like i’ve always been underprepared, or underdressed, or undernourished when i try to tackle serious elevation. i’m also apparently super slow. i blame my shortness. nevertheless, your 14-er plan sounds great, have lots of fun!

  2. FUN! I want to do a 14er this spring/summer too. I’ve been here for 3 years and have yet to hike one!

  3. I did my first 14er last summer and almost died and got a divorce…now I’m dying to do another one. Too bad last week rained! Maybe next week?

  4. Ha, it’s kind of a running joke that while I’ve done some 40+ 14ers, I STILL haven’t done Longs yet! How nuts is that?!

  5. were did you get that shirt?

Leave a Reply

