return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Home isn’t just a place

2 Comments

When I do random things like intern in Honduras, move to Atlanta for four months and decide to relocate to Denver, it probably seems like I’m this super human person that is completely independent and doesn’t need anyone else.  That is true to some extent.  Looking back on my time in Honduras, I really can’t believe that I figured out how to live alone in a somewhat sketchy Central American capitol city. I think I was just naive and didn’t know any better.  Anyway, it’s time for me to be upfront: I’m not superhuman.  I have a great family, and I find it incredibly annoying that we all live really far apart.  I can’t tell you how much I would love to just be able to go eat dinner with my mom on a random weeknight.  Or live near my brother Derek and have him teach me to rock climb.  Or live near my brother Karl and make fun of him for his fun math research groups.  Unfortunately, my family is geographically challenged.

My family = geographically challenged.

I was especially bummed out about not being with my family this Easter.  I have a new niece that I haven’t met yet, and my family was all in Virginia over Easter while I was stuck in Denver.  It’s so rare for all of our schedules to align and for everyone to be in the same place that I was almost tempted to find a last minute ticket to DC for the weekend.

Hoppy Easter from my niece Harper Lexington.

The only thing that kept me okay with being in Denver this weekend was the fact that I have an amazing home here.  Thanks to my friend LisaMarie, I came across a quote a few weeks ago that has been on my mind lately:

I can’t help but feel completely at home in Denver.  Although I was not with my family this weekend, I was not alone in the least.  It’s tempting to think of home as a literal location.  But this Easter has reminded me that home is not a place – it’s a feeling that you find amongst a group of people.  I spent Good Friday at a service with my friend Jessica.  I spent Saturday morning at a 15,000 egg Easter Egg Hunt sponsored by my church. I spent Sunday morning baby-sitting one year olds during the service of a church in my neighborhood.  I spent Sunday afternoon at brunch with the family of one of the awesome ladies from my small group. I spent Sunday night at my church’s Easter service. I felt so incredibly taken care of all weekend.

New Denver Church Easter Egg Hunt. It was crazy.

My family leaves big shoes to be filled.  And if I could not be with my actual family there is no group of people with whom I would have rather have spent my weekend.  I’m home.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

2 thoughts on “Home isn’t just a place

  1. ummm…beautiful. brought chills and i fought back the tears. im grateful for you.

  2. I get this totally, live away from my family and the people I chose to surround me are the best replacements … home is where you let love in

Leave a Reply

