return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Paula quiet time

4 Comments

My days off from work are when I actually live.  And I try not to waste a single second.  Although lately I’ve been trying really hard to relax a little more.  My friend Cayce once told me that my weekly schedule stresses him out.  Well, it stresses me out too.  Ever since I decided to not run the Colorado Marathon, I’ve been attempting to reduce the amount of things I have on my plate.  At the very least I am banning myself from making any new commitments for the next few months.

Anyway, I started my free day off with a 4 mile run and pancakes with chocolate peanut butter.  I am on a huge pancake kick these days.  I just love pancakes.  They’re so easy to make too (because we all know I am the world’s laziest cook)!

Best breakfast ever.

While I was eating my pancakes I read this great article that my friend posted on Twitter about the general loss of solitude within society today.  The article talked about how we as a society have lost our ability to be alone and why that’s a shame.  Boredom is now perceived negatively, and we try to fill our lives with mindless entertainment to avoid boredom.  That kind of business is exactly what I am trying to cut back on in my own life.  I had already decided to spend my morning at an art museum the day before, but after reading this article I was even more excited to go spend a few hours having Paula quiet time at a modern art museum.  So, like any good hipster in training, I grabbed my fake Ray Bans and biked downtown to the Clyfford Styll Art Museum.

Beautiful day to pretend to be a hipster!

You might be asking yourself, “Who is Clyfford Still?”  Only the best abstract expressionist (think Jackson Pollock) you’ve never heard of!  He’s kind of a big deal.  One of his paintings sold for $61.7 million at an art auction in New York City last year.  Denver happens to be home to the museum that is singularly dedicated to Still’s work, as his wish was for his art to be displayed together. The museum contains 94% of his works, which is a rare treat according to people much more knowledgeable about the art world than myself.  I thought it was cool because you could really see the progression of his work throughout his career.

I was blown away by Still’s work and the museum.  But more importantly, I was blown away by how regenerative having some quiet time was.  I could actually hear myself think.

On my lazy bike ride back home I passed a sign with the three best words known to man: “Antique Mall Open.”

Magical three words.

I immediately found at least five things I wanted but alas I was riding a bike and had no backpack.  Perhaps I will be back for the super cool Larimer Square sign.  I have a small Colorado-centric antique collection that I am building on the side.

This would look so good with my vintage Colorado map.

I realize I’m basically setting myself up perfectly for a candidacy to be the president of the Red Hat Society in Denver in 50 years.  Art museums and antiques – I’m like a cool 74 year old woman.  Try not to be jealous.

It wouldn’t be a complete day off of work if I didn’t spend some time playing in the mountains, and so after eating lunch on the porch I headed to White Ranch Park to meet my friend Britt for a casual 5 mile hike.

Pretty White Ranch.

Don’t mind if I do.

Beautiful art and beautiful scenery.  I couldn’t have asked for a better day full of quiet time.  Now back to my regularly scheduled programming.  Today’s agenda?  Volunteering at an Easter Egg Hunt with 15,000 eggs and 5,000 people.  Let the wild rumpus begin!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

4 thoughts on “Paula quiet time

  1. Wow , that sounds like a day of fun … I decided to take a leisurely day of nothingness and read a good book … gym later but MONDAY I’m of to a hot air balloon festival and tomorrow is wide open 🙂

  2. Sounds like life is great in Colorado! Hope the marathon training is going well. We will be routing for you on May 6! Happy Easter!
    Becky and Dad!

  3. We need to live closer so we can be pretend hipsters together.

  4. Pingback: RIP RMNPaula (2010-2012) | return to the motherland

Leave a Reply

