return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Spring has sprung

3 Comments

While my skis sadly stare at me every time I do laundry in the basement, spring has sprung in Colorado. I really want nothing to do with slushy skiing, and so I have been reluctantly converting to a spring state of mind.

How do I go about preparing for spring? First, I got my bicycle tuned up for the season. The bike, named Salazar, is actually from my friend Jenn, who is currently serving in the Peace Corps in Morocco. I also inherited a ski helmet from my friend Emily who is now in Arizona. People leave me, I acquire their stuff. It’s not exactly a fair trade, but it’s better than people just leaving me!

Second, I joined a softball team with my church. I’ve never played softball in my life. However, after successfully joining an ultimate frisbee league this winter, I figured there was no way softball could be as bad. The first game is tonight, so we’ll see how that goes. We had practice last Saturday, and I wasn’t completely terrible. I definitely exited the field with several bruises. The transition from frisbee to softball is kind of rough, and I have to constantly remember that I want to catch the softball away from my body. Softballs hurt way more than frisbees.

Third, I have busted out the trail running shoes early. Last year, the trails were a mess at least through April and early May, if not later. This year, thanks to winter’s early departure, the trails are basically clear. I had last Friday off of work, and I took full advantage of the beautiful weather by going for a run at Three Sisters/Alderfer. Three Sisters/Alderfer is in Evergreen, and probably one of my favorite places in the world to run.

Finally, I have embraced patio weather. Lunch outside in 72 degree weather? I’ll take it.

I’m no fool though. As excited as I have been to wear flip flops and sundresses again, this is Colorado. I’m not putting my winter clothes away until June.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

3 thoughts on “Spring has sprung

  1. It sounds a bit like Dublin, although the sun has been out for a week, there are no guarantees that there won’t be hale tomorrow. Loving your photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

