return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

#lovemytwitter

Leave a comment

I first signed up for Twitter in 2009 at the urging of my then roommate Vanessa. I played around on it for a week or so, and then I forgot about it for an entire year. I wasn’t hooked. Then, sometime around the end of 2010, I started using Twitter again. I followed cool things in Colorado and my friends from Missouri. I checked in on Twitter more often. When I got an iPhone last winter, I installed the Twitter application on my phone. Suddenly I could check Twitter at any time and send tweets from anywhere. I followed ski resorts, national parks, runners, Shaq, John Elway, cast members on the Bachelor, and Denver news outlets. Because of Twitter, I know so many random facts and developments. For example, I found out about the Peyton Manning to Denver move before every single guy in my office. However the main reason I love Twitter is mostly because of the community on Twitter. Following Shaq is cool but following people that I know in real life is even better.

@aimoboot and I bonded over Bachelor Ben’s bad hair.

You see for me, the greatest thing about Twitter is the relationships that I have built with my fellow tweeps. In some ways I feel like my Twitter followers have greater access to my thoughts than my friends. My followers see every stupid thought I have about the Bachelor, every link I think is worth sharing, every quote that is speaking to me and every mountain vista I find. Likewise, I see my Twitter friends through everything they do too. I follow a huge group of local runners on Twitter, and there is nothing more comforting than knowing that other people are just as frustrated with training in the ice and wind as you. There’s something about Twitter that is even more intimate than Facebook. I have honestly made friends as a result of Twitter. I met my new friend Lynne through a mutual friend of ours, Sarah, on Twitter. Because of Twitter I learned that Lynne and I share a love of beer, good music, and Denver before we even met. I legitimately have two Twitter friends who met on Twitter and are now engaged and getting married this coming May!

Running with @Sarahlevy and @cisforcourtney

I won’t be getting rid of Facebook anytime soon, but if you asked me to choose between Facebook and Twitter hands down I would choose Twitter. Twitter is a quasi-reflection of who I am. Truly. If you look at what and who I follow on Twitter, I think you would get a pretty good idea of who I am as a person.  That’s why I love Twitter. It’s completely flexible to the individual. While I sometimes get confused about why Facebook puts certain things in my newsfeed, I’m never confused by what is on my Twitter feed. After all, I chose it.

Boulevard Chocolate Ale at Freshcraft with @lgsmash

And now for my Pinterest rant. I am aware of many people who have found amazing recipes and crafts through using Pinterest. I know myself too well though, and I just don’t think it would be a good habit for me to start. I admire the people who can responsibly use Pinterest. I don’t think I’m one of them. While I use Twitter to stay informed and stay connected I can picture myself using Pinterest to compare myself to people who are better cooks, better crafters and better dressers than me. I gain a lot from Twitter, and I’m worried that I would lose a lot from Pinterest.

Besides, I live in a beautiful place. I’m already obsessed with Twitter, plus I have a blog. I think that the last thing I need is more time on the computer! More mountains, less modems. And that’s why Paula says no to Pinterest.

Have I convinced you to get on Twitter? Great! Follow @paulamahla

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

