return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Back to the basics

2 Comments

To be completely honest, marathon training has not been going well lately.  I have really been struggling mentally.  Running has not been fun anymore; it has been a chore.  I knew that this weekend I needed to make up some serious ground on my training and most importantly have fun again.  I needed to remember why I love running.  And so I headed to the trails at Elk Meadow Park.

I love my fanny pack.

I decided to not run for distance, instead running for time.  Normally during marathon training I run for mileage, but obviously that approach has not been working for me.  I wanted to actually enjoy the run and not focus on the distance.

There’s nothing glamourous about distance running.  I generally get really bored during my distance runs around Denver.  My Nicki Minaj Pandora radio station is barely enough to entertain me.  Yet while trail running at Elk Meadow Park, I was not bored in the least.  I focused on running over the rocks on the trail.  I listened to the wind rustling the trees. I smelled the melting spring snow mixed with the scent of pine needles. I started to remember why running has been a part of my life for 12 years.

Shorts and snow. Must be spring in Colorado.

 Not the most encouraging trail name ever.

I completed my time goal of two hours and felt great, especially after falling short on my distance runs the past few weeks.  I have no idea how far I actually ran, and I’m completely unconcerned about my mileage.  That was not the point of this run.  The point of this run was to get back to the basics: just me, my fanny pack (of course) and the trail. And I was happy to discover that running and I still have it.  Running is still an absolute joy.

My happy place.

I’m a little nervous for the Colorado Marathon and I’m feeling slightly unprepared.  But I think as long as I remember the feeling I had running at Elk Meadow Park it will be just fine.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

2 thoughts on “Back to the basics

  1. Yay! Props to you! I went through a sluggish phase last month where it was difficult to run 4 or 5 miles. I’m not sure I could do marathon training right now! Glad you got back to your groove a bit. 🙂

  2. It’s amazing what a difference the scenery makes. Kudos for recognizing that you didn’t need a break from running, but a break from running pavement.

Leave a Reply

