return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Worth it

Leave a comment

I always find that the days that I think I am too busy to run are the days that I benefit the most from running.  I will be the first to admit that it’s not always easy to find time for a run.  This past fall when I was taking classes and basically working full-time I sometimes wouldn’t even get home until after 9:00.  Yet I would still force myself to drag out my running shoes and get outside for a three mile run.  You never regret a run that you complete but you always regret a run that you don’t do.  And sometimes putting on your shoes and getting out the door is 90% of the battle.

The weather has been crazy beautiful the past week in Denver, and so after work today I was dying to go for a trail run.  I also had small group at 7:00 p.m., which put me on a bit of a time crunch.  Before I left work I spent a few minutes on Google maps trying to figure out how I could route my evening.  I needed to pick up cupcakes, go for a trail run and make it to small group.  All within less than two hours.  I made myself a map with all three stops, and to be honest it looked a little intimidating.  Luckily, I work in the western suburbs of Denver, and I’m minutes away from a lot of good trail running destinations. I was committed to making it happen.

Picking up the cupcakes was a breeze, and I was soon ready to move on to my next destination.  I seriously was starting to feel like I was in a scavenger hunt at this point.  Or better yet, the Amazing Race!  Anyway, it was trail time next.  I had originally been planning on running at Deer Creek Canyon, however, I made a last minute stop at South Valley Park instead.  South Valley Park is on the way to Deer Creek Canyon, and I decided it was a better decision since it was closer to my final destination. It was also a great decision because South Valley Park is pretty awesome.

Skiing is great and all but man have I missed this!

Have I mentioned my love of Colorado lately?  Because if not, I definitely had an I love Colorado trail run tonight.  The terrain varies greatly among the many trails in the Jefferson County Open Space system, and the South Valley Park area looks straight out of Utah.

Worth it.

In the end, my meticulous mapping and scheduling of my evening paid off.  I was able to successfully complete mission cupcake, trail running (35 minutes is better than nothing) and make it to small group at 7:00.  Was it easy?  Not necessarily.  Was it worth it?  Absolutely.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

