return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Love like a sunset

3 Comments

You know what’s amazing?  The fact that the sun rises and sets every single day.  I mean sure there are cloudy days and days when I am too preoccupied to even pay attention, but sunsets and sunrises are incredible when you really think about it.  There’s this beautiful moment that happens twice every single day.  And I’m never disappointed on the days when I decide to pay attention.

I decided to pay attention Saturday evening, after getting back from the brofest in Breckenridge.  My friend Britt and I had originally planned on doing something fun and outdoorsy on Saturday but I was on Plan C after staying an extra night in the mountains on Friday.  As an alternative, I suggested that we play frisbee or check out the sunset on Mount Falcon after my 16 mile distance run.

Lovely afternoon for a run in Cherry Hills Village. Too bad it wasn’t happening.

My 16 mile run was an epic fail.  Perhaps it was the skiing at ABasin that I had done earlier in the day or the fact that I had slept on a couch for the two preceding nights.  I’m actually just having a serious mental block with training for the Colorado Marathon right now.  I’m not having fun.  I definitely need to start doing my long runs with other people.  I have a distance run planned with my friend Courtney in two weeks, and that is the only thing that is keeping me training right now.

After my disappointing five miles, I called Britt.  Luckily, she wanted to run around Wash Park, which allowed me to salvage some of my mileage.  We ran four miles, and then headed to Mount Falcon to watch the sunset.  I had been eyeing the clouds during my first run of the day; it looked like we were going be perfectly set-up for a great sunset.

Britt and I arrived at Mount Falcon with excellent timing, and we had about fifteen minutes to kill before the sunset started.  While we were waiting we talked about the best sunsets and sunrises we had ever seen.  My answer was sunrise at Machu Picchu and Britt’s answer was sunrise at Mount Sinai in Egypt.  We have apparently led absolutely ridiculous lives.  Then the show started:

Beauty happens every day.

It’s time to pay more attention.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

3 thoughts on “Love like a sunset

  1. Sunrise at Machu Picchu was worth every blister and moment of pain on the trail. I’m so glad I shared it with you.

  2. Pingback: Blame it on the altitude | return to the motherland

Leave a Reply

