return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Paula and the boys

1 Comment

Somehow I feel like I always end up hanging out with boys.  Like this past week, when I spent two days at a condo in Breckenridge with six guys.  Good thing I grew up with two older brothers.

It all started when my friend Andy mentioned that his band, Digital Beat Down, was planning on playing a show in Breckenridge.  Andy’s concert coincided with a ski trip that my friend Cayce had planned with a bunch of his friends from home.  Clearly this was a mini-trip to Breckenridge for Paula waiting to happen.

Heading to Breckenridge after work Thursday.

I headed to Breckenridge after work on Thursday night, thanks to my awesome work schedule, and got ready for a night with the boys.  I had met one of Cayce’s friends during a ski trip last year, and I was not surprised that the other guys were all just as fun.  And I quickly learned that there are many advantages to ski trips with boys.  For example, we went to Absinthe Lounge before the concert, and one of the guys, who is a bartender in real life, ordered me an amazing Belgian beer.  I had no idea what I was drinking, but man was it good.

Delicious.

Although we had a late night with the concert, the group still managed to wake up at 7:30 for a day of skiing.  At breakfast time, I learned about another advantage of hanging with boys: bacon.  I was on bacon duty, and I think it turned out pretty perfect if I do say so myself.

“In heaven there will be bacon and ski lifts.”

We then headed to Vail for some skiing.  The snow is getting questionable I must admit.  When we first started skiing, it was icy.  At the end of the day, the snow softened a little bit due to the sun, but I think this ski season is quickly coming to an end.  Anyway, in case you’re wondering if it’s difficult to keep track of seven people at one ski resort, it is.  I lost everyone in the first hour.  Eventually Cayce and I reunited in Blue Sky Basin.

Cayce and Paulz.

I overbooked myself a little and had originally planned on trying to make it back to Denver for a concert on Friday night.  We left Vail at 5:00, so there was no way that was going to work.  Plan B?  Stay in the condo for another night!  You know your life is not too shabby when Plan B involves hanging out in a hot tub after a day of skiing.  The boys and I were all pretty tired, and we ended up just staying in for chill night.  One of the boys, Dave, works at an incredibly legitimate bar in Philadelphia, and he made some Electric Current Fizzes for us to try.  It involved shooting a raw egg yolk.

Electric Current Fizz!

The next morning I left the boys and headed back to Denver.  I stopped at ABasin on the way back to eat breakfast and do a few runs down the mountain.

Breakfast of champions.

This is what I call a good morning.

I was back in Denver by noon, and my life was a little bit emptier without the boys.  Luckily, we already discussed next year’s ski trip.  We’re thinking Jackson Hole 2013.  It’s going to be epic.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Paula and the boys

  1. This reminds me of a short-lived TV show from a few years ago called “My Boys”.

Leave a Reply

