return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Perma-vacation

1 Comment

Yesterday, while I was skiing at Vail, one of my friends asked me when my next big vacation was going to be. The funny thing was that this question really threw me for a loop and got me thinking. What exactly do I need a vacation from? At that moment, it struck me that I kind of try to make my entire life a vacation. People fly from all over the world to ski at Vail. I have a season pass, so for me skiing at Vail is what I call Thursday, not vacation. 

If you’ve seen The Heartbreak Kid, a bad Ben Stiller movie that I don’t recommend, there’s a part in the movie where the main characters talk about the people who manage to work in cool places and are thereby perma-vacationers. I’m not exactly living the ski bum dream and skiing every single day, but in some ways I feel like I am a perma-vacationer. I promise I do have a normal job that requires me to work during the week (except for BroBoard Friday of course), however, if I am able to take a Thursday off of work, you better believe that I am going to go skiing at Vail.

I happen to live in Colorado, which does makes being a perma-vacationer easy. I like to spend my winter weekends skiing and my summer weekends hiking fourteeners or camping. Recently, I reread all my blog entries from summer 2011, and as I was reading over all the activities I did, I even thought my life sounded slightly ridiculous.  That being said, I don’t think you have to live in Colorado to be a perma-vacationer. Being a perma-vacationer is really just a mindset. It’s a mindset in which you find cool things to do in your backyard and take full advantage of any free time. It’s a mindset in which you actively make your life something from which you don’t want a vacation. It’s possible anywhere!

I know that I’m not going to be able to sustain my current lifestyle forever. At some point, I probably will have some real responsibilities that require more of my attention. But I hope that no matter what I never lose the spirit of perma-vacationing and I hope that I continue to take full advantage of whatever surrounds me.

And friends, if you need a vacation in the meantime, feel free to come visit and I’ll teach you my perma-vacation ways.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Perma-vacation

  1. Pingback: Balancing act | return to the motherland

Leave a Reply

