return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

BroBoard Friday

1 Comment

After my difficult three day work week it was time to take a well deserved break yesterday for BroBoard Friday!  My coworker and I coordinated our lieu days to go skiing, so every other Friday has been deemed BroBoard Friday.  Although I’m not a bro or a boarder BroBoard Friday is really all about just enjoying life and appreciating how lucky we are to live near the mountains.  It’s a great day.

My work week was actually more like a 2 3/4 day week.  Late start on Thursday because of snow!

This week’s BroBoard Friday had five participants (it’s a growing movement), and we headed to Breckenridge, which was an easy decision since the mountain was reporting seven inches of new snow.  I must confess, Breckenridge and I have a slightly tenuous relationship.  It’s not really Breckenridge’s fault.  I like Breckenridge fine – I just don’t like the crowds.  It’s not a bad mountain in the least, but I do feel like there is a disconnect between how crowded it gets and how good the skiing actually is.  BroBoard Friday is not about worrying about these types of things though, so we headed to Chair 6 to escape the crowds.

Gorgeous day at Breck.

I remember skiing the Chair 6 area last year, probably on my tenth day day of skiing ever, and I kind of died on the runs.  I am happy to report that I can now ski the Chair 6 runs!  And the powder was pretty decent in this area of the mountain.  I rode the lift one time with this guy from upper New York who skis at Killington Mountain back east.  He definitely put things in perspective for me, since the east has had an even worse year than we have had.

On our last run I was dying to do a run off of the Imperial Express lift.  The Imperial Express lift, fun fact, is the highest quad lift in North America.  Last year I was definitely not good enough to ski any run off of that lift, and so I wanted to at least do one run off of it this year.  Nobody wanted to join me, which was understandable since it was miserably windy.  An actual conversation we had on the ride up to Breckenridge:

“Is it suppose to be windy today?”

“It’s Breckenridge, it’s always windy.”

True story.  Regardless, the sadistic distance runner in me still insisted on heading up to the top of the Imperial Express alone.

The highest (and windiest?) quad lift in North America.

After an admittedly miserable lift ride, I made it to the top of the Imperial Express.  I skied down a pretty easy face off of the lift, and I only fell once.  Hey, if you’re not falling, you’re not skiing hard enough!

Top of Imperial Express, 12,840 feet.

All in all it was another very successful BroBoard Friday.  The next BroBoard Friday will be March 9.  Contact me for details on how to join the movement!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “BroBoard Friday

  1. Pingback: Perma-vacation | return to the motherland

Leave a Reply

