return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Ultimate Mondays

1 Comment

“You don’t suck as much as most people do in their first season,” said one of my ultimate frisbee teammates to me last night after our double header. These words were actually hugely encouraging to me, since when my roommate, Gracie, convinced me to sign up for the Mile High Ultimate Frisbee Winter League I had no idea I was going to be playing with professionals! I mean sure, I had played plenty of pick-up games of ultimate frisbee in the park. When I was interning in Honduras in 2009, I played ultimate frisbee every Sunday with Embassy and USAID staffers. I thought I was prepared for winter league. I started to get worried the night before the first game when Gracie started telling me about some of the different formations and plays. This worry only continued when I got to the field and saw how good the members of the league were. I really should have known better. People that voluntarily play ultimate frisbee in 32 degree weather are sure to be serious players.

Winter league, it’s serious.

The first few games I spent a lot of time running around and having no idea what I was doing. My teammates very nicely explained some of the plays to me, but I found it overwhelming to try and focus on the moving frisbee, the players and formations. I enjoyed being on defense more since being able to run around the field was really the only strength I could offer my team. I have actually been counting my Monday nights playing ultimate frisbee as my speed workouts for the Colorado Marathon!

Because of the snowpocalypse, we had a double header last night to make up some games. I was not looking forward to this at all. I had spent the day skiing, and all I wanted to do that night was curl up on my couch and watch a terrible episode of my favorite show, The Bachelor. We lost the first game, only by two points, and my team headed to a nearby bar to wait until our next game. I did make a catch during the first game, which was an exciting progression. My next goal is to make a catch and then successfully throw it to someone. One step at a time. After our beer break, we headed into our final game with high spirits.

If you have to choose between asking me or Gracie to pour you a beer, you probably want to ask me. 

I don’t know if it was the beer that I had during the break or the fact that I was starting to be less overwhelmed, but something important happened during our second game. I started really having fun and getting into it. And the best part was that our team finally ended our two game losing streak, winning by one point. Afterwards a bunch of us headed back to the bar to celebrate our victory. Gracie and I also split an order of the best nachos in Denver. I kid you not. Delicious nachos are to be had at Doctor Proctor’s Lounge in a strip mall in Glendale. Don’t be alarmed by the shady looking doors or cardboard sign outside.

This is about perfect.  Google image search for the win.

Anyway, last night was a turning point for me. Ultimate finally became fun for me, and I can’t wait to run around in our game next week and play in summer league.  I may have found my new calling! Or at least my new calling until my intramural softball league with New Denver Church starts in March.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Ultimate Mondays

  1. Pingback: RIP RMNPaula (2010-2012) | return to the motherland

Leave a Reply

