return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

C is for Colorado

2 Comments

When my mom told me that she was sending me something fun in the mail I was not expecting something as awesome as the alphabet book about Colorado that I made in 4th grade.  I think there’s some sort of federal law that all kids everywhere must study the state that they live in during 4th grade.  As a Colorado kid, my teacher made us make an alphabet book about the state.  The results are somewhat hilarious.  I laughed at myself for a good ten minutes.

Thanks Mom!

Two things: 1) I apparently was really bitter about having to edit these things and 2) I really loved the Baby-Sitter’s Club book series, written by Ann M. Martin.  And another thing, one of my interests was geography?!

My love of aspen trees started at a young age.

My love of 14ers also started at a young age.  Also my lack of ability to draw.

RMNPaula!

In case you were wondering, people don’t live in the tiny houses.  You’re welcome.

I’ve been a believer in women’s rights since 1996.  Oh yeah, 4th grade Paula was sassy!

I also had beef with Lewis and Clark.  It was raining!

Many things in my life have changed since 4th grade but I like to think that I really got off to a good start at a young age.  Mountains, aspen trees and Rocky Mountain National Park?  I’m still the same Paula.  Thanks for sending me some fun mail mom!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

2 thoughts on “C is for Colorado

  1. You’re welcome….

    In answer to someone’s question about your cooking, you really should explain that it was cookies that you made (and sometimes with way too much baking soda, but we ate them anyway).

    I’m very jealous of your snow day – we have had none this year!

    Love,
    Mom

  2. “Colorado must have thought women were valid to vote.” haha! I love it.

Leave a Reply

