return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Embrace

3 Comments

If you’ve ever spent any amount of time with me you are probably familiar with my love of Twitter. I don’t understand how anyone could possibly not like Twitter! I follow ski resorts, runners, Tim Tebow, friends from college and of course all my favorites from The Bachelor. I’ve even made friends in real life through Twitter. While I could probably continue about Twitter for an entire blog entry that’s really not the point of this entry. What I actually want to talk about is my “word” for 2012. In early January, several of my friends and bloggers that I follow on Twitter identified a word for the year that defined their goals and attitudes for the coming months. Although I had been intrigued by the idea for a few weeks, I had not figured out what my word would be. Until today.

EMBRACE.

Embrace is my word for 2012. And for me, it means a lot of things. Although I haven’t moved to a new city technically, I have still started an entirely new life in Denver. Deciding to stay in Denver for the forseeable future and taking a job here has changed my life. It’s a change that I am choosing to embrace. One of the major side effects of being in an international relations graduate program is the fact that people end up all over the world after graduation.  Case in point, I have friends in China, South Africa, Morocco and Washington, D.C. right now. I started counting the goodbye parties that I went to in 2011 because it was just getting ridiculous.  The final count?  15.  However, this wasn’t unexpected.  In choosing to stay in Denver after graduation, I kind of knew that was going to happen.  I completely understand why many of my friends left, just as I’m sure they understand why I stayed.  I truly have no regrets about this decision, as it was fairly informed since I had the opportunity to do a few really cool internships and test the waters for myself in the international relations world. In the end I purposefully chose a life in Colorado, and I am now choosing to embrace this life and all that it encompasses.

I’m embracing meeting new people.  I’m embracing furthering current relationships.  I’m embracing personal learning.  I’m embracing marathon training.  I’m embracing getting involved in my community.  I’m embracing challenges.  I’m embracing climbing more mountains.  I’m embracing experiences.  I’m embracing taking chances.

I have no way to predict what 2012 has in store for me.  But I do know that whatever comes my way I’m going to try and embrace it, for better or worse.  Here’s to loving, living and growing this year.  I’m ready.

If “embrace” is my word for 2012, this is definitely my quote.  Daily reminder.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

3 thoughts on “Embrace

  1. Pingback: Xtreme Aspen « return to the motherland

  2. I love your word! Great choice 🙂

Leave a Reply

