return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Seasons of love

2 Comments

I’m really into making lemonade when life gives me lemons.  Since the snow has not been cooperating with my skiing plans this winter, I instead decided to take up a winter trail running adventure this past weekend.  My destination?  Kenosha Pass.  I went there this past fall with my friend Britt to view the aspen foliage, and I mentally bookmarked it as a future trail running destination.  Of course I had thought I wouldn’t be running there until the spring, but again, you already know my philosophy on making the best of things.  I also really needed to get out of Denver.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Denver as a city.  I just get a little cabin fever if I am in the city for too long!

Very few things in life compare to the beauty of aspens in the fall, in my humble opinion at least.  However, when Britt and I went to Kenosha Pass in October, everyone else in Colorado was also there.  This past weekend I had the place to myself, and there’s something special about that too.  Plus the conditions were actually pretty great for trail running.  The trail was full of packed snow, and my trail running shoes were perfectly sufficient to handle the terrain.  Although I would someday love to get into snowshoe running, I was glad that snowshoes weren’t necessary.

Running at Kenosha Pass was also some good altitude training at 10,000 feet.  I realized the other day that it’s almost time to start training for the Colorado Marathon.  As in next week.  Yikes!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

2 thoughts on “Seasons of love

  1. so beautiful! don’t worry, the snow will return soon… i have a theory: its because i left that colorado is going through its “snow drought”. countdown til i return! 😉

  2. So pretty! Also, snowshoe running?! what the what?!

Leave a Reply

