return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Rocking out

Leave a comment

The past three weeks of my life have been full of fun with friends and family and a lot of traveling.  If I don’t see the Denver International Airport for the next six months, that would be okay with me!  Anyway, I had the day off today, thanks to the federal government, and while normally I would use a day off to go skiing, I kind of wanted to stick around Denver and have a chill day.  Plus, I skied three days last week, and I know the snow is only mediocre at best right now.  Naturally my idea of a low-key day in Denver involved bouldering with my friend Staci.

I really just can’t stay away from extreme sports with a high learning curve.  I went rock climbing with a group of my friends last spring, but I had not done any rock climbing since that time.  Luckily, I warned Staci that she was going to be dealing with a beginner, and she was very patient.  The day was gorgeous, and I think we were both just happy to be outside enjoying the weather.  Although the skier in me could only half enjoy the weather, as I am still hoping for some serious snowstorms soon.

She makes it look so easy

Not making it look easy

I had a lot of fun bouldering, and I really just concentrated on being comfortable on the rocks.  Staci and I definitely have plans to hit some rock climbing gyms soon.  Although to be honest, I hope I don’t do any rock climbing for the next few months.  It’s ski season!

Just another beautiful day in Colorado

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

