return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Cool runnings

1 Comment

You might be a Colorado runner if you seriously consider putting on ski goggles and a headlamp before heading out for a run.  This really happened to me tonight before my run around snowy Wash Park.  I ended up not using ski googles or a headlamp, but in retrospect, the ski goggles really would have been an excellent idea.  It was snowing hard enough that when I got home my eyelashes were basically frozen.  I do regularly wear ski socks when I run in the snow though.  I find that fleece-lined running tights with ski socks worn on the outside make an excellent match for the snow.

Ski socks are useful in many settings

So far, I probably have not done a great job of selling this whole running in the snow thing.  Running in the snow is actually one of my favorite activities in the world.  I especially love running around Wash Park in the snow at night, when I have the park to myself.  It’s kind of magical.

Running on snow is what I imagine running on the beach would be like if sand was light, airy, and weightless.

As I was running I couldn’t help but think back to how I had spent the earlier half of my evening, volunteering at the Denver Rescue Mission.  The Denver Rescue Mission is a non-profit organization that I really think does great work in the community, and I signed up to help out with serving dinner at the food kitchen downtown.  We served some 300 meals tonight, and while I find it fun to bundle up and spend 30 minutes running around a park in the snow, I know the snow was less fun for many people who Denver who didn’t have warm places to spend the evening, some of whom I may have even interacted with tonight.  I’m sorry to go all Christmas special on everyone but especially at this time of year I think it is so important to realize what really matters in life.  I don’t claim to have all the answers, however, I have found that time spent volunteering is never wasted.  Helping other people, in whatever form, is really the best present there is.

The famous Denver Rescue Mission sign

Since I’m allowed to be cheesy during Christmas, I’m just going to continue down this path.  Find something you are passionate about and volunteer!  Awesome volunteer opportunities of any sort are just a Google search away.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Cool runnings

  1. I came across this post today! Thank you for volunteering at the Mission and thank you for sharing your experience! Have a happy and healthy 2012!

Leave a Reply

