return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Puppy love

2 Comments

Over the past year, I have discovered that I am a dog person.  This was a good discovery to make because my roommate is the owner of a dog named Bear.  It’s a very appropriate name since he’s a 95 pound Newfoundland mix.  Today I had the pleasure of picking up Bear from daycare after work, and I was pretty excited about this.  Picking up Bear from daycare was just about the most precious experience ever.

Bear had obviously had a fun day at daycare, and he quickly passed out on the way home.

He perked up when we got home though.

And in case you’re wondering, yes Bear does have a feather in his hair.  He’s a sharp dresser.  Anyway, as much as I love Bear, my heart really belongs to chocolate labs.  I hung out with the most amazing chocolate lab over the summer, Sage, who inspired me to want to get my own puppy.

I’m planning on getting a chocolate lab in May or June, conveniently after the height of ski season.  I just know I can’t be a responsible puppy owner during ski season!  Naturally, I already have a name picked out.  My chocolate lab will be female named Denali, in honor of my favorite sled dog puppies in Alaska.  This gets complicated: I’m getting a chocolate lab because I loved Sage and I’m naming her Denali because I loved stalking the Denali National Park sled dog puppy webcam over the summer.  It’s a giant chain of puppy love all around!

Although really I would forego all of my plans if someone would just get me a miniature husky for Christmas.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

2 thoughts on “Puppy love

  1. awe, that’s my girl! hope you are well! Sage is enjoying Seattle! we are going on our first hike in the Cascade Range this weekend. I’ll update you with some pics after we get back.

    -Lane

  2. SO CUTE!!!! I want a lab too – yellow! – but not till we move out of our little apartment. And Bear is like, the coolest dog ever. Thanks for having me over last weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

