return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Ski free

1 Comment

The only thing better than skiing?  Skiing for free!  Thanks to the Warren Miller movie I went to a few weeks ago, I had a free voucher for a lift ticket at Winter Park that I used with my friend Chrissy today.  Since I have the five mountain ski pass I don’t normally get to ski at Winter Park.  In fact, I had never skied at Winter Park, so I was excited to see what it had to offer.  Chrissy had the Winter Park ski pass last year, and when she told me that Winter Park reminded her of Narnia, I was immediately sold.  If you’re trying to convince me to go somewhere, using the Narnia analogy is always a sure bet.

View from the lift

Narnia!

It was a really pretty day, albeit freezing, and the resort had gotten about 3 inches of snow the night before.  Unfortunately, this meant that the runs were a crazy mix of an icy base, fake snow and powder.  I also was wearing my ski boots wrong (yeah it happens), and I felt like I had no control over anything I was doing.  It was definitely an off day for me.  I still haven’t fallen at all this season, which puts me light years ahead of where I was at this time last season.  However, there is a difference between making it down a run and making it down a run and feeling good about it.

Hanging on the lifts

Riding some cabriolets, the usual

In my experience though, a bad day of skiing is usually followed by a great day!  Plus there’s no such thing as a bad day of skiing.  I mean the day was still a win overall.  Spending time in the mountains is always fun, and Chrissy was also an excellent DJ on the drive up.  I’m not sure what rock I have been living under but Chrissy introduced me to a Mumford and Sons collaboration with the Dharohar Project.  It’s this amazing combination of Mumford’s bluegrass and Indian music.  I am newly obsessed.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Ski free

  1. Holy Moley! I hadn’t heard this Mumford & Sons yet either – It’s fantastic! Thanks for sharing!! I’m sure you’ve heard this one already- I first heard it on KBCO studio C. I hope they come back soon (and don’t sell out in 30 seconds) http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&NR=1&v=gJcyAVDApvE

Leave a Reply

