return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Let it snow

Leave a comment

Currently, Denver is a beautiful, sunny 62 degrees.  It’s hard to complain about weather this great, but I am about to do just that.  I want it to snow.  I want to be flying down the slopes.  I have skiing on my mind, and this was only supported by several events this week.

Snow Day

I went out to a happy hour with a few of my coworkers after work this week and finally had a chance to try New Belgium’s latest winter warmer ale, Snow Day.   New Belgium describes the beer as: “Pleasantly hoppy, Snow Day carries the subtle chocolate and caramel flavors of a new brewing malt known as Midnight Wheat. The Styrian Golding, Centennial and Cascade hops bring the backbone of hoppy bitterness to complement the roasty undertones. This beer is the deep garnet of a roasted walnut and presents a creamy tan head, floating artfully atop. Snow Day is bold and hoppy, drinkable and strong.  It reminds you to enjoy the unexpected.”

Snow Day is a black IPA that replaces 2 Below, New Belgium’s previous winter warmer, and I really enjoyed my first sample of it.  I thought it had nice flavors of a darker beer, without the heaviness that can sometimes accompany these.  It’s definitely going to be a go-to choice this winter.

Paula as an American Girl doll

My friend Emily is nannying right now, and so I am getting to live vicariously through her experiences with little ones these days.  Although I never had an American Girl doll, and I had to console myself by reading all the books four times.  I know, rough childhood.  Anyway, Emily texted me this gem of an American Girl doll.  The rationale?  Paula as an American Girl doll.  I’m not going to lie, I so would wear that exact outfit.  And take a husky puppy.

Like There’s No Tomorrow

“I don’t know if there is anywhere better to be in the world than right here, right now.”

I have been planning a Warren Miller viewing with my friends Britt and Laci since we went on a hike to Lake Isabelle in August.  Tickets didn’t even go on sale until September, so skiing has really been on my radar since the end of the summer.  Last night was finally Warren Miller day, and we saw his latest film “Like There’s No Tomorrow” at the Boulder Theater.  It was awesome, and I am pretty pumped for ski season to get going.  I also need to start playing the lottery, because the movie also made me want to take up heli-skiing, learn to ski jump, and go skiing in Chile, Alaska and New Zealand.

I’m consoling myself about the beautiful weather in Denver by planning on attempting my first double-digit run since the Chicago Marathon.  If Denver is going to force such lovely weather on me, I guess I have no other choice!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

