return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Twice as nice

Leave a comment

Today I killed two birds with one stone: I skied for the first time this season and I fulfilled my lifelong dream of skiing at two resorts in one day.  All that and I was back in Denver by 3 p.m.!  Actually my lifelong dream is to ski all five mountains on my pass in one day, so don’t worry, I still have a reason to live.

Life has been kind of crazy lately, with moving, working, and taking a very full load of classes.  My roommate and I probably spent ten hours on Saturday unpacking.  Needless to say, I had definitely been looking forward to hitting the slopes all week.  Unfortunately I was so excited that I couldn’t even really enjoy daylight savings.  I woke up at 4:30 a.m. and could not fall back asleep.  I guess the anticipation got to me.

The plan was to head to Keystone with two of my friends from grad school, Chrissy and Melissa.  We got to Keystone before 8:30 and had plenty of time to make the first chair.

Good thing this wasn’t my first rodeo.

Ski season 2011 begins.

I had previously been really nervous about skiing this year, because I was worried that my new skis were going to be too advanced for me.  As it turns out, I’m pretty sure that the Volkl Auroras were made specifically for me.  The first run I had on those guys was just awesome, and I definitely feel like I made the right choice.

Volkl Auroras.  Love them.

It felt amazing to be skiing again.  Like everything was right in the world.  Speaking of the world, everyone else in the world had the same plans for the day as Chrissy, Melissa and me.  The first run at Keystone was fun, but the second run started getting a little crowded.  After talking to one of Chrissy’s friends who was heading to A Basin because of the crowds at Keystone, we decided to do the same.

When we pulled into front row parking at A Basin 15 minutes later, I knew we had made the right choice by leaving Keystone.  The lift lines were just as long at A Basin, but the snow was ten times better.  The final part of the run at Keystone had been starting to get icy and not fun when we left, and in comparison A Basin had semi-legitimate snow for so early in the season.

A Basin

The East Wall, needs more snow!

After doing a few runs, we decided to end the day with a celebratory drink at the lodge.  The beautiful thing about early season skiing is that you know you still have the whole season ahead of you.  There’s no pressure to try and fit in tons of runs or push yourself.  Early season skiing is all about just relishing the fact that you’re skiing again and hanging out with friends.  Preferably with a Bloody Mary.  Ah yes, ski season is here.

Why yes, that is a bacon Bloody Mary.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

