return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Falling, falling, falling

Leave a comment

I have known for a long time that my fall schedule was going to be crazy.  I am trying to fit in 19 credits so I can graduate at the end of the fall quarter, and I am also working 28 hours a week, because apparently I don’t know how to do anything in moderation.  Monday through Wednesday I go to work and then spend three hours each night in class.  Can we also talk about the fact that it’s only week three and I have a paper/project due in every single one of my classes next week?  You better believe I will be buying a fancy, fancy frame for this darn diploma.

After this week though, I only have to make it through seven more weeks of classes.  And I have a lot to look forward to in the next few months!  Like:

The Chicago Marathon

The Chicago Marathon is next weekend.  On Sunday, October 9, feel free to say a little prayer for me.  I’m running it with a big group of friends from college, so it should be a fun weekend, minus the 26.2 mile run we have planned.  There’s actually so many of us going that we literally rented a house in Chicago.

At this point I’m thinking it may be my first and last marathon.  We’ll see how it goes!

Dishwashers and laundry

My coworker and I have been house hunting in Denver since basically the end of August.  The Denver rental market is tough, but after persevering through a few setbacks, we have finally found our “dream bungalow.”  It’s in a great location, near an awesome park in Denver.  The selling point for me has really been the dishwasher and washer and dryer.  I am completely over apartment living.  The house also comes with a really intense garden, so if you like to garden come over anytime and help us!

Importantly, we have also already started planning a Housewarming/Paula Graduated/Thank God the Quarter is Over party.  Details forthcoming for Denver friends.

Bear nephew

My roommate happens to have a dog named Bear, so I will soon be adopting Bear when we move in together.  I look forward to teaching Bear how to run around the park near our house.  Bear is also on a diet currently, so I will be his own personal Jillian Michaels.  And this will be a great test to see if I actually want my own dog.  Basically I get to be the aunt to Bear – all the perks and only some of the responsibilities.

Bear as a puppy

Bear now!

Ski season

It’s almost October which means it’s almost November which means it’s almost ski season!  I really can’t wait to hit the slopes again.  I continue to be slightly nervous about the fact that I bought advanced skis, but hey I will grow into them.  It might be rough the first few days, but when has falling down ever stopped me?

My brand new babies

So despite the fact that my life is not a blast at the moment, I am looking at the long-term picture.  Come December I will be settled into my new house, putting dishes into a dishwasher, hanging out with Bear, diploma and Chicago Marathon medal on the wall and ski season upon us.  It will be great!

Cayce and me last ski season.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

