return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Why yes, I would love to own a Vail jigsaw puzzle

Leave a comment

I love tacky gift shops.  Truly.  Airport gift shops are always a personal favorite, and one of my best purchases ever was a pink T-shirt that has a sad face outline of the state Missouri and says “Missouri Loves Company”.  It’s pretty fabulous.  As cool as I think my Missouri T-shirt is, for the rest of you I promise this is going somewhere.

I happened to be perusing the Colorado Ski and Snowboard Museum Hall of Fame web site today, naturally, and I came across what might be the best gift shop I have ever seen.  On a side note, I am also dying to go to said museum in Vail some day.  The problem is that Vail is like two hours away, and if I am in Vail in the winter I am skiing and not willing to sacrifice time to go to the museum.  I am thinking a trip there the weekend after the Chicago Marathon or sometime in October might be perfect though!

Anyway, I would love to own many items from the gift shop, including:

Vail trail map jigsaw puzzle.  Yes I’m serious about this one.

Colorado ski map tote bag.

Vintage Telluride poster.

To add to my Colorado plate collection!  I really have one, don’t be jealous.

Ski Colorado frosted glasses with a keepsake evergreen tree.  Yes.

Ski Colorado throw pillow!  This pillow makes me want to take up needlepoint.

You know you’ve made it in life when you own a Vail dish towel.

I would also love for the museum to sell part of their collection to me.  Mostly the vintage lift tickets, with which I am slightly obsessed.  They would look so good in my apartment!

Don’t even get me started on my other favorite ski history web site, Colorado’s Lost Resorts.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

