return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

The five year plan

2 Comments

This summer has been truly life changing.  At this time last week, I was having nightmares about the future.  Now I have a five year plan that involves a puppy (spring 2012) and a Subaru SUV (late 2013).  You could say I’ve had quite a week.

I should have known that I was in for an excellent day last Wednesday at work when I was greeted by hamburger cupcakes in the breakroom.

Hamburger cupcakes, my new lucky charm

What was the occasion for the hamburger cupcakes?  The July birthday office celebration of course.  Since my birthday was in July, that only made the hamburger cupcakes extra lucky for me.  Don’t worry, they were as delicious as they look.  Two of my co-workers and I stood in the breakroom in the late afternoon and maybe each ate three cupcakes.  Peer pressure always results in positive decisions!

Anyway, back to the huge life changing news, basically I entered work on Wednesday as a student employee and left with a full-time job offer to commence immediately after I graduate in December.  This is basically the most ideal situation in the world for me, and I truly couldn’t be more excited about starting a career in federal contracting.  Zero sarcasm.  I was a business major in undergrad and while I have enjoyed my time studying international relations in graduate school, I think I might actually be much happier with a more business oriented career path.  I don’t regret graduate school in the least, and I feel incredibly lucky to have had some wonderful graduate classes, internships and experiences.  I think that most things in life happen for a reason, and I would not have stumbled into this opportunity had it not been for school.  The bottom line is that I am thrilled that I get to stay in Colorado for the forseeable future.  I’m also excited to start my career at such a young age, and I see a lot of future opportunities.

Could my week really have gotten better after securing a full-time job?  Yes, yes it could.  One of my best friends from college happened to be visiting me, so I followed up my amazing day of hamburger cupcakes and a job offer with a four-day weekend.  Alex and I pretty much did every extreme activity in Colorado.  I actually made an itinerary for her trip and emailed it out to some of my Denver friends and they worriedly told me that I might need to tone it down a little.  In reality, Alex asked me to make it more extreme!  Just one of the billion reasons we are friends.  Highlights of the trip included Garden of the Gods, the Manitou Incline, two consecutive days of white water rafting and getting tattoos at the same place as the Denver Nuggets.

Teeps and I taking on the rapids

Wetsuits post-rafting

Alex (Teeps) loved rafting so much that we are already planning a trip next year to Gore Canyon, the site of the most intense commercial rafting in Colorado.  I rafted it last summer and it was an awesome experience, so I can’t wait to take that on with her.  It’s part of the five year plan.

Oh and the tattoo?  It’s a dogwood flower and an aspen leaf, symbolizing Missouri and Colorado.  At this point I have spent approximately half of my life in each state, and they both equally mean a lot to me.  This time I decided to tell my mom about the tattoo, unlike the time I got an ankle tattoo in Argentina.  She doesn’t completely hate it, so I am calling it a win.

It’s getting color in two weeks!  The aspen will be golden of course.  I love fall foliage.

Basically, I couldn’t be happier with how things are turning out for me.  I am staying in Colorado long-term.  I have some amazing people in my life.  When I get my chocolate lab puppy (spring 2012), life might very well be perfect.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

2 thoughts on “The five year plan

  1. Now we just need to work on getting L Win living in Denver to complete your happy life 🙂

  2. I love your 5 year plan!! So fun! Alex’s visit sounds quite similar to Christie’s…. you’re pretty good at showing people a good time. I can’t wait for puppy pictures. Haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

