return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Eating my cake too

Leave a comment

I like to have my cake and eat it too.  For example, CrossFit and marathon training.  Most sane people would probably choose to focus on one or the other.  I don’t want to give either up, so instead I am trying to balance both.  I have worked out a rough schedule for myself that includes CrossFit three times a week, one tempo run per week, one distance run per week and one trail run with the Denver Trail Runners (DTR) per week.

This is the first official week that I have stuck to this schedule, and the first official week that I went to DTR.  I went several times last summer, but last summer I was in excellent running shape, averaging about six days of running weekly.  Even then I was barely running with the top pack of women trail runners at DTR.  Needless to say, I entered Thursday’s run with the mindset that I was probably going to die and finish in the back.  The run was at Lair O’ The Bear, one of my favorite Jefferson County Open Space Parks.  If nothing else, I knew the run was going to at least be pretty.

JCOS!

I was right, and I definitely was in a lot of pain from the week before.  I was still hurting from four days of running, four days of CrossFit, and a fourteener from the previous nine days.  I was especially hurting from CrossFit on Tuesday, the Operation Redwing Memorial Workout.  It was 5 rounds of 28 repetitions of kettlebell swings, box jumps, walking lunges, burpees, ball slams and sit-ups.  I kind of died.  Don’t worry, it only took me an hour.  Actually I was just under an hour, but I was really just happy I finished.  Small victories.

Mt. Bierstadt, 14,064 feet

Back to Thursday’s run, I made it five miles, albeit a painful five miles, and I felt pretty good about it.  I decided to take Friday off, which was definitely needed.  Today I have to run ten miles, and I’m not exactly looking forward to it.  This might just be my first and last marathon.  Here we go!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

