return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Peace, love, Telluride

Leave a comment

In the wintertime, I measured my life in terms of “days on the mountain”, or rather, the days I was skiing.  In the summertime, I am quickly starting to measure my life in terms of “days in a tent”.  While there’s no Epic Mix Facebook application that can track my days in the tent,  I have thus far logged six days in a tent in the past few weeks, with four occuring this past weekend at the Telluride Bluegrass Festival.  And if anyone wants to invent that Facebook application soon I would really love to start earning pins.

Anyway, the Telluride adventure started at midnight on Wednesday, since I wanted to make sure we were there in time to see the openers The Head and The Heart.  If you have not checked out this band by the way, do so immediately and ignore the Pitchfork Media review.  I took the second shift of driving, and took my turn to nap in the backseat around 3:00 a.m.  I woke up to dawn in the San Juan mountains just outside of Telluride.  It was pretty magical.

Best wake-up call

We stayed at the Lawson Hill campground, which was about a five minute school bus ride to town.  I was happy with this campground though, because we were right by a river that had awesome views.  Plus the school bus shuttles were great and came every fifteen minutes.  I can probably never go to any other multi-day music festival because Telluride was so well organized in every aspect, case in point the school bus shuttles.

Base camp Telluride

The Head and The Heart were great, along with every single other band I saw the entire weekend.  I’m serious, there was not one bad act.  Sarah McLachlan, Bela Fleck and the Flecktones, Railroad Earth, Yonder Mountain String Band, The Decemberists, Sam Bush Band, Old Crow Medicine Show and Mumford and Sons…let’s just say it was a pretty packed weekend!

#1 concert venue. Hands down.

Don’t worry, we took some time to enjoy the area too.  We went hiking one afternoon, rode the gondola over to the Mountain Village and checked out some of the shops in Telluride.  Someday I hope to be able to afford to ski in Telluride.  Possibly when I marry Tom Cruise.  I hear he has a house in Telluride.  Watch out Katie Holmes!

SJJ and PLO on the waterfall hike

View from the gondola

The final night the weather turned a bit nasty, typical Colorado.  We supported the town’s local poncho economy and braved the elements for Mumford and Sons.  They played one of my favorite sets of the entire weekend, and it was actually kind of special to hear them in 40 degree rainy weather.  Just like England!

Don’t be jealous of our ponchos.

That night I also learned how amazing my tent is.  SJJ and I stayed warm and dry all night.  ALPS tents have my official endorsements.  SJJ also has my official camping buddy endorsement.  On the way back home, we stopped by the Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park because it was a mere thirty minute detour.  It was foggy, but the canyon looked extra mysterious and pretty.  I took lots of pictures for my mom, who I think will maybe eventually forgive me for that one time we took a summer road trip there when I was a kid and I stayed in the car reading a Baby-Sitters Club book for part of the canyon.  Sorry Mom.  I appreciate Colorado now.  I was spoiled.  You never appreciate what you have until it’s gone!

Don’t be alarmed by my appearance.  Five days of camping will do this to you!

Magical.

Overall, Telluride was a great experience.  I plan on going every single year that it is possible for me to go from here on out.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

