return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Summertime and the living’s easy: Part II

Leave a comment

Last May, I made a list of things I wanted to do over the summer.  At that point, I still had two weeks of the quarter left, and at least this year I made until the end of the quarter before I decided to start fantasizing about the summer.  I’m not quite there yet – one more paper stands between me and freedom.  Still, it’s never too soon to start planning your summer!

Summer 2010 quite possibly gave me unrealistic expectations for all future summers.  I had a five week staycation, and my friends and I spent all summer having dinner parties and hanging out in a legitimate mansion.  Also, I am happy to report that I completed almost every single activity on my 2010 list: Water World, Jefferson County Open Space, fourteeners, getting to know Denver, and Rockies games.  Learning Portuguese and trying to cook more are basically just perpetual goals of mine.  It’s good to not always reach your goals because it gives you something to look forward to!

Summer 2010 ladies at the mansion.  What, normal graduate students don’t have mansions at their disposal?

The 2011 list includes:

  • CrossFit Endurance – I have been going to CrossFit since the middle of February, but my allegiance to CrossFit during ski season was definitely questionable.  Actually, my allegiance to most of my commitments during ski season was questionable.  During the summer, I will finally have the time to get more serious about CrossFit and also start doing CrossFit Endurance workouts as my marathon training.
  • Paleo – I signed my soul away to CrossFit.  No really, I made a deal with one of my Coaches that I would go paleo for a month, from June 11 to July 11.  Conveniently, I will be ending on my birthday so I can enjoy some Colorado beer.  Paleo roughly means you eat like a caveman, eating proteins, fruits and vegetables while avoiding breads and grains.  Anyone who has had the opportunity to witness how much I love bread baskets at restaurants will know how hard this is going to be for me.  I might cry.
  • Biking – I’m probably the only Denver resident without a bike.  I plan on searching CraigsList for a decent bike that I can use to get around town.  I don’t think I can afford investing in mountain biking this year, but that is definitely the eventual goal.  At least I can start biking to the grocery store and my friends’ houses!
  • Rediscover the joys of leisure reading – Graduate school has kind of ruined reading for me, and I look forward to a summer of reading books for leisure.  Not that reading articles in the Journal of Comparative Politics isn’t really interesting and all!  My goal is one book per week.
  • Make art – While Claire and I were in New Mexico on our recent camping trip we spent one morning drawing the landscape.  Making art was relaxing and rejuvenating, and I would love to take up oil pastels and possibly watercolor painting over the summer.  I also have a plain wooden table that needs some serious painting and loving.  I can’t wait to be creative.
  • Mountain time – I plan on spending as much time as possible outside this year.  Hiking, camping, rock climbing, white water rafting – I want to do it all.
  • Other plans – My summer is actually quickly filling up!  I have a wedding in Missouri in June, the Telluride Bluegrass Festival in mid-June, a trip to Crested Butte for the Fourth of July, and the Wild West Relay 24 hour run from Fort Collins to Steamboat Springs in August.  I’m also considering a trip to rock climb and raft with my brother in West Virginia sometime in August and one of my best friends from home might be visiting at the end of July.

Loving mountains during summer 2010.

One thing that is different this summer is that I will be gainfully employed all summer.  I’m slowly coming to terms with the fact that I do not get a five week staycation this year.  Oh well, this is probably for the best.  Something has to fund my summer plans!
Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

