return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl


1 Comment

Web obsessions: Dirtbag Diaries

I have to confess, I’ve never really understood the whole podcast thing.  Why would I choose listening to boring people talking to me over quality rap music?  Luckily, I know I’m not perfect, and I can usually admit when I am wrong.  And in this case I was very wrong.

The problem was that I had no idea that interesting and entertaining podcasts that existed.  Like my current obsession, The Dirtbag Diaries.  My friend Claire introduced me to these podcasts, which she was sure I would love since we share a similar appreciation for outdoor adventures.  The Dirtbag Diaries is hosted by Fitz Cahall and is all about outdoor adventures and the difficulties encountered when balancing pressures from life with a passion for adventure.  Basically the podcasts are stories about people taking risks, exploring the world, and figuring out what matters the most.  Since I am having my own mid-life crisis right now, a lot of these stories speak to me and have provided some serious food for thought.  For example the episode “A Successful Life” chronicles the journey of a woman who landed her dream job in Washington, D.C. with the National Geographic but found that her life was still missing something.  The battle she had with herself about whether a career was worth sacrificing a way of life that she loved is exactly the current debate I am having with myself.

I probably listened to four hours worth of these podcasts on Monday while I was at work, and I found myself jotting down quotes on a scrap of paper on my desk.

How much do I love the Dirtbag Diaries?  I found Fitz Cahall on Facebook and friend requested him.  He accepted so we’re basically real friends now.  Maybe someday I’ll have a story cool enough to be a guest!  Anyway, it’s probably time to start listening to some music again.  I love these podcasts too much to truly focus on anything productive and it’s practically finals week now.  Bon Iver’s new song “Calgary” anyone?