return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

In-tents weekend

1 Comment

I knew I was in trouble the first time that my friends Cayce and Jonathan introduced me to Steep and Cheap and Whiskey Militia.  Great deals on outdoor equipment?  It was bad news for my bank account from the start.  Luckily, I have demonstrated amazing restraint, and in the past three months I have only bought three items.  Okay, actually four.  I forgot about the watch I got from Whiskey Militia in February.  Anyway, the purchases have all been useful items, and I have been especially excited about my most recent purchase: a tent.

That’s right I am now the proud owner of an Alps Chaos 3 tent, bought 60% off the list price, so it was basically free!  I was so excited about my Chaos 3, that I even felt that it was necessary to test it out in my living room.  I figured this would be a great way to try it out, since I’m pretty sure setting up a tent in my city apartment is ten times harder than setting up a tent in an outside, open area.  My intuitions were correct, and I almost had a close call with the tent poles and my ceiling fan.  We (the tent and I) escaped free from harm, and I turned off the ceiling fan immediately.

Chaos hanging out on my couch

On the floor

Set-up!

Rain flap

Chaos was really easy to set-up and had I not been working in such a limited space I think it would have taken me about five minutes.  I already have plans for camping in New Mexico over Memorial Day weekend and in June for the Telluride Bluegrass Festival, and I have no doubt that this tent and I will spend lots of time together this summer.  Technically it’s a three person tent, but this really means that it’s comfortable for two people and gear.

Don’t worry, my weekend did not consist entirely of me setting up tents in my living room like a nine year old.  I went rock climbing at Garden of the Gods with some of my friends on Saturday and had a blast.  Rock climbing might just be the new skiing.  My brother is an avid rock climber, and since we share a lot of the same outdoor loves, I should have trusted his judgment more.  Derek, it’s official, you are always right.

Rock climbing, my new favorite.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “In-tents weekend

  1. ps. just got the title’s jist. HA.

Leave a Reply

