return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Dough and pho

Leave a comment

Apparently I have been living under a rock in Denver over the past year or so.  I just recently discovered two amazing food establishments that have changed my life as I know it: Buffalo Dough Boy Bakery and Pho 95.  If only I had known about them sooner!  Oh well, better late than never.

Buffalo Doughboy Bakery

 Off of Broadway – 33 E. Dakota Ave.

I lead a very rough life, and last Thursday, when my friends and I were getting ready to leave Denver to ski at Vail, we decided to stop at Buffalo Doughboy Bakery.  Usually, we stop at McDonald’s or Starbucks for some coffee and greasy food, but on that fated day, we randomly stopped at Buffalo Doughboy Bakery as we were driving to McDonald’s.  Why did we stop?  Because of the sign for free coffee Thursdays of course!  The only thing better than coffee in my book is free coffee.

We walked inside the charming purple house and were greeted by amazing smells of freshly baked goods.  Claire and I ordered a Crocodile pastry to split, which was basically a cross between an apple and a pecan pie in a delicious, flaky crust.  My friend Cayce saved a bear claw for the slopes, which made for an epic ski break.  Today, Cayce and I went skiing at Breckenridge, and of course we returned to Buffalo Doughboy for free coffee Thursday.  Free coffee Thursday is quickly becoming my favorite day of the week.  I ordered a turkey croissant pastry that was still warm from the oven.  The pastry was filled with turkey, brie, sun dried tomatoes, raisins and spices, and it was maybe the best breakfast pastry I have ever had.  Cayce ordered another bear claw for the slopes, which we split for a quick lunch today at the bottom of Peak 10.  We ambitiously decided to try and ski 30,000 vertical feet today, which we made happen, with five minutes to spare.  I like to think our breakfast of champions at Buffalo Doughboy contributed to our achievement.

Pho 95

At Federal and Mississippi

Claire and I recently went for a chilly trail run (thanks Colorado), and she introduced me to the wonderful entity that is pho.  I am a fairly adventurous eater, and although I had never had pho, she sold me on the concept of pho noodles and soup when she mentioned jalapenos and Siracha sauce.  Plus nothing sounded better than a bowl of warm noodles after our trail run!  Pho noodles are served with a plate of thai basil, culantro, limes, jalapenos and bean sprouts and you can order various combinations and broths and proteins.  Claire and I both ordered tofu pho with vegetable broth, which was delicious.  Admittedly, I had a hard time eating the pho and had to use a fork.  Eventually I hope to improve my pho skills and graduate to chop sticks like a real person.

Anyway, Pho 95 is apparently THE place in Denver for pho.  It was packed when Claire and I went, and Cayce and I went today after skiing and ended up sharing a table with two random people, which was an interesting experience in of itself.  Pho 95 is delicious enough that it’s worth the wait.  It’s also worth the price.  $5.50 for the small bowl?  That’s the steal of the century.  I couldn’t even finish my bowl either time.  I think it’s safe to say that I am an official pho convert.  Or a phonatic!

My life has been forever changed by my recent discovery of these two Denver eateries.  Next on the list?  The Breakfast King, also off of Mississippi.  Cayce assures me it’s equally life changing…

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

