return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Bouldercation

1 Comment

Right now I am averaging about four to five days a week in Denver, a ratio that I am very happy about.  I mean don’t get me wrong I love Denver, I just love mountains more.  On the agenda for this week?  Bouldercation Wednesday!  I came to Boulder last night with my friend Claire, because she interns here and stays with her uncle in Boulder once a week.  I decided to tag along this week and use today for a homework break away from Denver.

Of course this is Boulder, so last night Claire and I stopped at Chautauqua for a brutal trail run before heading to her uncle’s house.  Chautauqua is one of my favorite places to trail run in Boulder – okay actually, one of the only places I have trail run in Boulder.  Anyway, the run was pretty intense.  The first ten minutes up the Chautauqua Trail was straight uphill, which is always hard on a trail run because you’re dealing with an altitude change as well as the fact that your muscles haven’t quite warmed up yet.  I have a personal rule for myself that I’m not allowed to take a break on a trail run until I am ten minutes into the run, and usually by that time I have gotten my second wind and don’t feel like stopping anymore.  After our trail run, we headed to Claire’s uncle’s house off of Lee Hill Road, an infamous road for biking in Boulder.  The view from his house was gorgeous, and I woke up at 7 a.m. to a beautiful view of the sunrise out of the window.

Not a shabby backyard.

For breakfast today, Claire and I headed to this cute local coffee shop and cupcake store in Boulder called Tee and Cakes.  We ordered croissant egg sandwiches, which were delicious.  Claire studied abroad in France, so I definitely trust her taste in croissants.  She assured me they were legitimate.

Cupcakes and coffee, two of my favorites.

I am currently hanging out in the Boulder Public Library working on a mid-term (correction, getting ready to work on a mid-term) and I am hoping to make serious headway today.  I am going to go somewhere fun to be determined for lunch and then planning on meeting Claire after work for another trail run before we head back to the big city lights of Denver.  I think we’ll probably switch it up and run the Boulder Valley Ranch Open Space trails, a new place for both of us.  Happy Bouldercation!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Bouldercation

  1. yeah girl! love the sunrise photo… so lovely. we should do it again sometime… except lets CAMP! woopity woop. i ❤ springtime.

Leave a Reply

