return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Spring break thrifting

1 Comment

I have been in school since I was five, and I have experienced a lot of papers and tests in my day.  Still, I’m not sure I have ever had a more miserable experience than one of the take home finals that I recently completed.  The important thing is that I am now done and officially on spring break.  I turned in my last final today, and I thankfully regained my normal life back.  While my friends and I are leaving for a mini-road trip to Crested Butte tomorrow, I spent some time today reacclimating to life in the real world again with my friend Claire.  What was on our agenda for the day?  Thrifting!

Actually, my reacclimatization began with a trail run at White Ranch Park.  Since my entire weekend had been spent working on papers, I felt as though my muscles had started to atrophy.  It was great to go for a run and feel like a worthwhile human being again.  When I met up with Claire after my run, we decided to first grab lunch at Pajama Baking Company, a cute coffee shop/bakery on Pearl Street.  The weather in Denver clearly called for ice cream, so we each ordered small scoops of ice cream after lunch.  The ice cream at PBC was good, but I still maintain that Lik’s Ice Cream is the best in Denver.

Following lunch and ice cream, Claire and I headed to the Goodwill on Broadway.  Goodwill is kind of a hit or miss locale, and this trip was definitely hit.  I ended up buying a vintage ice bucket with a map design that matches the decor in my apartment, glass earrings, a blue/green bowl that I am going to use as a fruit bowl, and, my personal favorite, a sunset Mount Rushmore plate for 99 cents.

 

Apparently I am obsessed with plates and national parks.  It’s very fitting.  I don’t even know where I am going to put this plate yet, I just knew that I had to have it!  However, despite the success we had at Goodwill, Claire and I were actually on a mission to find some special apparel for our Crested Butte trip.  We have big plans for an 80s ski party in Crested Butte, and Goodwill was just too classy.  We then headed to the ARC further down on Broadway, where we hit jackpot.  ARC was kind of amazing.  They had the most ridiculous items, including a huge stash of hippo related items (no joke, there were hippopotamus clocks, toothbrush holders, figurines, and more), and they played great music, like Katy Perry.  Nothing says quality like KP.  We even managed to find another national park related good.

Thanks to ARC, my friends and I are definitely going to be the most stylish people in Crested Butte.  Happy spring break to my fellow DUers!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Spring break thrifting

  1. I’m imagining your 80’s party to be exactly like “Hot Tub Time Machine….” 🙂 Love it. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

