return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Banff Mountain Film Festival

Leave a comment

What’s the best way to follow a weekend of skiing at Beaver Creek and Vail?  The Banff Mountain Film Festival of course!  I actually have to give my mom credit for this one, because she went to Banff in Lawrence, Kansas last year and kept raving about how great it was.  Naturally when I saw that Banff was making several stops in Colorado I immediately decided that I had to go!

I ended up going to the first night of the Boulder showing with my cousin Jen, who lives in Boulder.  Let me tell you what, you don’t get more Boulder than the Banff.  I think the entire town was there.  I also learned a new term from Jen – “Pataguccis”.  As in rich Boulderites that spend all their money on outdoor equipment and luxury items, like Patagonia fleece jackets and Gucci bags.  Classy.

Anyway, the films were completely awesome.  I now have a strong desire to go kayaking, base jumping, surfing, skiing, biking and fly fishing in the near future.  In no particular order.

Surprisingly my favorite film of the night was about fly fishing in Eastern Russia.  Random, yes.  It was especially cool because one of the guys in the film lives in Boulder, so he went up on stage afterwards and took a few questions.

I really just loved everything about Banff.  So much so that I purchased tickets for the Friday night Banff in Denver.  I don’t even care if some of the movies are repeats.  For fun I also randomly applied for a job at the Banff Centre that I am never ever going to get.  A girl can dream, right?

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

