return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Return to RMNP

Leave a comment

Since I was out of commission due to my wisdom teeth all weekend, sadly I did not get to do any skiing.  I did, however, make it to Rocky Mountain National Park on Sunday afternoon!  My mom came into town for the weekend – sort of to visit, sort of to take care of me in my drugged post-wisdom teeth stupor, and sort of because her birthday was on Monday.  Anyway, we ended up journeying to Estes Park for some hiking at RMNP.  I hadn’t been there since the summer, so it was definitely fun to return.

RMNPaula!

We ended up hiking about five miles from the Fern Lake trailhead.  I felt surprisingly good, which maybe can be attributed to the dose of Vicodin I took right before the hike, and we wanted to try to go all the way to Fern Lake.  Unfortunately, the trail wasn’t very packed past the Big Thompson River Pool, and we had only brought one pair of snowshoes because my participation in the whole ordeal had been tentative, so we ended up turning around at that point.

This is what happened when I ventured off the trail.

I get it from my Momma.

Skiing in the mountains is awesome, but there’s definitely something to being in the mountains at RMNP.  It’s definitely a much more zen experience.  For some reason, my family just really loves Estes Park in the winter, and RMNP is near and dear to my heart.  I am now on my second RMNP season pass, and I look forward to many more fun hikes in the coming year.  And don’t worry, I have major plans for skiing this weekend!

The Big Thompson River Pool

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

