return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

A little less wise

1 Comment

I can guarantee that nobody is going to be jealous of the weekend that I am having!  After putting off getting my wisdom teeth taken out for the past two years and canceling an appointment last August, I finally had it done today.  I actually almost cancelled at the last minute, when one of my friends told me I would not be able to ski for the rest of the month.  My oral surgeon reassured me that it would be fine though, and she definitely got a kick out of my phone calls all week.  I called earlier in the week with concerns about being able to do CrossFit, and I think really I was just looking for any excuse to cancel again.  How was the actual experience?  Not that bad!  My surgeon put on the Pandora radio station of my request (top 40 rap of course), and I think I made it through one Nelly song before I was completely knocked out.

I haven’t felt that bad so far, although the swelling is suppose to get worse tomorrow.  Denver friends, feel free to visit me tomorrow for some entertainment!  The highlight of my evening has been getting pumpkin ice cream from Lik’s Ice Cream, which in my opinion makes the best ice cream in Denver.  I may be partial since it is in my neighborhood, but I swear it’s much better than Bonnie Brae’s.  Also cheaper and less crowded!

Another high point of my weekend has been picking up my maps from the framer.  See?  I’m trying to focus on the positive aspects of my weekend.  Anyway, the maps were ready yesterday, and I have already hung them in my apartment.  I don’t even want to talk about how the cost of framing these maps was ten times more than I paid for them originally.  I am really happy with how they turned out though, and I especially love the world map that I found at an antique store in Atlanta.  The Colorado map turned out well too.

I also finally got the correct Pike’s Peak plate hung instead of the Wisconsin plate, which was its placeholder.  I will need to hike Pike’s Peak for sure this summer now that I have this lovely plate on my wall.

All in all, I guess my wisdom teeth experience has not been too terrible.  As long as I am skiing again next weekend, I will have no complaints!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “A little less wise

  1. i want to copy your decorating expertise/see your apartment in real life! hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

