return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Skiing solo

Leave a comment

My life is apparently a Jason Derulo song.  I mean, what was a girl to do when her skiing partners-in-crime bailed on her due to homework?  Obviously, I went skiing solo!  I do have my priorities.  Actually, I had never skied alone before today, but I felt like I was up to the challenge.  Plus, during my staycation summer I would regularly go on lengthy hikes by myself in Rocky Mountain National Park and I became a big believer in quality solo time in the mountains.

My day got off to a questionable start.  I slept through my alarm, and I did not wake up until 8:00 a.m.  At this point, I seriously debated whether it was even going to be worth trying to go still, since traffic on I-70 can be atrocious after 6:30 a.m.  However, my love for skiing and mountains prevailed, and I figured that I could at least make it to A-Basin despite any traffic.  Luckily, apparently everyone in Denver decided that the 40 degree weather forecast was going to be too warm and stayed home.  In defense of my Denverites, there have been some amazing powder days lately, and I was also a little sad to ski on old snow.  Anyway, I hit absolutely no traffic, and while driving through Loveland Pass to A-Basin, I decided to just go on to Keystone.

Loveland Pass, always fun!  Note the 20 foot wall of snow on the side of the road.

I made it to Keystone by 9:30, which was kind of amazing since I had left Denver so late.  At first, it was a little strange to be there by myself.  However, when I finally made it down my first run, I decided that skiing alone was not half bad.  I had to be a lot more responsible than usual and figure out the trails and lifts by myself, but it was fun to ski at my own pace and go down whatever runs I wanted.  I kept it pretty mellow and only skied one black, mostly because I wanted to avoid getting caught on any moguls by myself.  Moguls and I are not friends at the moment, though I have hope that we can see eye to eye in the future.

Beautiful day for skiing

Overall, I’m not opposed to skiing alone again in the future.  Although I ran into someone I went to college with and went down a few runs with his crew, I mostly just stood in the singles line and made friends on the lift.  I got offered swigs of whiskey on two occasions, was invited on a family’s vacation to Lake Powell (in July, I can’t wait!), and skied down a run with the coolest seven year-old kid ever.  Of course I had plenty of mountain quality time as well, and I had fun flying down the runs solo.

I like skiing enough that it’s worth it to me to go alone if necessary.  Still, nothing compares to skiing with Jonathan and Cayce.  Not only are we all on about the same level skiing/snowboarding wise but we just have a blast.  “If I had a dog with wheels for its back legs, I would name it Chariot.”  Best ski partners ever?  Possibly yes.  Except when they decide to be responsible and put school ahead of skiing.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

