return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Vonn, Paula Vonn

Leave a comment

I don’t know how I went 23 years of my life without skiing.  I can’t even really put into words how much fun it is.  My friends Jonathan, Cayce and I were having a deep conversation on a ski lift in Breckenridge yesterday, because that is where the best conversations take place of course, about why we love skiing (or snowboarding) so much.  The constant improvement?  The fact that every run is a little bit different?  Flying down groomers?  Carving into some fresh pow?  The beautiful mountain scenery?  I choose E, all of the above.

Jon, me and Cayce on lifts at Keystone a few weeks ago.

I’m no Lindsey Vonn by any measure, and I’ve only been skiing for less than six weeks.  Still, I’ve gotten to the point where I can pretty much make it down most runs that are not totally gnarly, double blacks.  My friends have definitely been patient with my learning process.  The first time we went to Breck back in December, I was snowplowing the greens.  This past weekend, we covered Peaks 7, 8, 9 and 10 and Chair 6 all in one day!

Skiing the East Wall at A-Basin with my cousin Jen.

Actually, I had the best run of my life on Super Bowl Sunday morning.  Jon, Cayce and I had our act together and made first chair at 8:30 a.m. and skied two runs down American off of Peak 9.  It had snowed ten inches the night before, and we were among the first people to ski the run.  I felt like I was flying.

I think that the company you keep while skiing is important to the enjoyment of the process as well.  Cayce, Jon and I spent the weekend in Breck, and I probably got an ab workout from laughing so much on Saturday night.  I’m not even going to try to explain the ridiculous one liners.  Overall I kind of just love life at the moment.

Heaven.

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

