return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Put some keys on that

Leave a comment

I have had quite the interesting past few days, and it all started yesterday.  Every Wednesday I enjoy a little something that I like to affectionately call “12 hour Wednesdays,” which entails a full day of work followed by two hours of homework and three hours of class.  Basically my day starts at 6 a.m. and is non-stop until 9 p.m.  It’s a pretty good time.  Anyway, last night I had just headed home after class and was walking into my apartment when I realized that my apartment keys were missing.  At some point during the day, my keys had apparently fallen off of my keychain.

Don’t be jealous of my Missouri keychain.  That darn carabiner.

I have a carabiner keychain, which I like to blame for creating this entire problem.  Luckily, the situation turned out to be just fine.  I called my friend Shreya and I immediately headed over to her house for a mid-week slumber party.  I checked my parking spot at DU when I got to Shreya’s, and of course I found my Missouri house keys in the snow, which was oh so useful.  Really universe, could I not have found my Denver apartment keys?  I mean I have a tendency to lose cell phones on a regular basis, but I have never lost keys before.

The whole experience ended up turning out for the best though.  I have been so busy during my weeks that I rarely have time to hang out with my friends.  It was nice to have a pause, albeit a forced pause, in the middle of the week to just hang out with one of my best friends in Denver.  In the morning, I had a mid-term to write, and I woke up to Shreya making me breakfast.  I consider myself to be a fairly independent person, but even I have to admit, my schedule has been completely overwhelming this quarter, and I am so lucky to have friends that take care of me when I need it.

Anyway, I eventually got a hold of my landlord, finished my mid-term with plenty of time to spare, went to class, and then headed to CrossFit with my friend Cayce after class.  I can’t even explain how much I enjoy CrossFit.  It’s not the same as running on a team again, but it’s pretty darn close.  Not to mention the fact that it is completely different from any type of exercise that I have ever done and a total challenge.  It’s especially a challenge for my non-flexible hips.  No wonder I have never been able to squat weights!  One of the CrossFit coaches actually said that I had the least flexible hips he had ever seen.  The joys of ten years of distance running.

After ski season winds down, I will definitely get back into running on an intense level again.  Right now though, CrossFit and skiing are getting me through my weeks. Cayce and I went grocery shopping after CrossFit, and I picked up some fresh flowers to celebrate my homecoming.  I have never been so happy to see my apartment!

Home sweet home

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

Leave a Reply

