return to the motherland |

getting in touch with my inner colorado girl

Moms are the best

1 Comment

My mom seriously made my week.  My schedule has been a bit crazy, and as I predicted, I need to cut down on my hours working in order to have time for school.  Because of my schedule, I have not been the best daughter over the past few weeks, playing phone tag with my mom for several days in a row.  Still, that has not prevented my mom from being awesome.

First, I came home to my apartment yesterday to a mysterious envelope from my mom in my mailbox.  I assumed it was something business related, like a credit card bill or insurance.  I opened the envelope, and my mom had apparently sent me a clipping from a magazine that said, “To Paula or not to Paula?”

When I am at home, my mom frequently saves clippings that she thinks I will find interesting.  However, by mailing this to me, she took it to a whole other level!  Secondly, I checked my email last night, and I had this email waiting for me:

Hey, I just want to continue making your week, so guess what I did last night?  Went roller skating at B&J’s!  The ticket taker asked us – I went with a friend of mine – if we were there to watch…what nerve.  I entered the speed skate and came in third in the female category (out of 5, but I ALMOST took the girl in the number 2 position – two more laps and I would have gotten past her).

Love, Mom

How can I not smile when I picture this entire scenario?  I can only hope that there are photos.  And earlier in the week, when I had been having my existential crisis, my mom told me that she would still love me even if I decided to run away to a ski town for a year after graduate school, which definitely would not be the most rational life decision that I could make.  All things considered, it’s pretty hard to have a bad week when I have such a great mother.  I may be 23 but I’m not ashamed to admit that I love my mom!

Author: paulamahla

Typical Colorado girl that can't make up her mind. Trail running, hiking, climbing, camping, CrossFit, ultimate frisbee, and skiing? E, all of the above.

One thought on “Moms are the best

  1. She is the BEST!If there are pictures you are required to share them!

Leave a Reply

